DEV Community

DeChamp
DeChamp

Posted on

Whats the music that brings the best work atmosphere for you?

For me, I have a few but I fall back to theses a lot.

Spotify Dance Hits playlist
Spotify Dubstep Classics

I would like to see what other people are using. To see what music gets everyone else moving and performing their daily best.

One other trick I use is white noise. This is for when I need absolute focus. I'm sure we've all heard of it by now, but background noise that is designed to help you focus.

Check it out here at https://coex.dev/tools. On the left hand sidebar you'll see a background noise player. Give it a try!

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Ooo fun topic!

I really love working to ambient music! And I'm particularly into the kinda ambient music that is generated by modular synthesizers.

Here's a little example for ya:

Collapse
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp • Edited

this is very cool. It's fun to look at all the switches and lights, mind blown. lol. This is very peaceful. Thank you for contributing to this!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Glad you dig it!

Haha, it is quite fun to look at too... I'm just starting on building my own system so it's much smaller than this, but I call it my spaceship. Wires everywhere, lotsa lights, it kinda gives off a retro-futurist vibe!

And I totally agree it's peaceful sounding! A lot of the generative ambient music is very relaxing and I think modular really lends itself well to creating this sorta stuff. It kinda reminds me of robotic wind chimes. 🤖😌

Thread Thread
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

it's also close enough to what I already listen to so it makes it feel at home. I would love to see your space ship! Maybe write a post about it?

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Aww I really should! And appreciate your encouragement. 😀

I do feel like modular synths are close enough to development to fit here — I'll probs post under #watercooler and #music if so.

I previously wrote about my love for synth-makers Teenage Engineering here but have yet to post on my love of modular!

I'll try and do so soon! And will def include photos of my spaceship when I do! 🛸

Thread Thread
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

awesome, i'll read it now.