DEV Community

DeChamp
DeChamp

Posted on

Where does self doubt come from? More importantly, what to do about it?

I just recently saw a post asking anonymously "What is your greatest weakness as a software developer?".

I replied with "self doubt".

I have studied coding for over 20 years, and I still doubt myself all the time. Why?

I think if I look deep down, it was due to all the late hours, hard work and negative comments that my earlier jobs brought me.

They still echo around in my head even though I've been in better careers for years now.

Or maybe it's my own internal voice fighting me or a number of other factors.

What ever it is, it's here. So I might as well work on it and try my best to do away with it.

How?

Well, I meditate for one thing. I try to remind myself that I'm human and self doubt will come and go. It's just a feeling/thought, which can change.

So I choose to surround myself with positivity. I practice self care and remind myself of my accomplishments.

I focus on the good things I've done and I just work to improve on the things I'm not great at.

I try to be honest with what those are and face them instead of running away.

Speaking of running away, I don't do that if at all possible. I try not to avoid the hard tasks because they seem scary.

That is a quick sure way to get lots of self doubt, by assuming you can't before you even started.

Most of the things in my career that I was terrified to face, ended up being a fluffy marshmellow compared to the dragon I thought I was facing.

I have other tools as well but really it's just a mental game. Fill your life with positive things. Think positive.

If you can't think positive, you may be facing some sort of mental health issue, which is perfectly normal. I myself am I meds.

I needed a little extra to get my chemicals balanced out, mix it with the other work I put into myself and most days have the self doubt at bay...

Thanks for taking the time to read my thoughts on the subject.

Questions? Comments? Have some useful tips? Leave a comment.

  • DeChamp

Check out some of my other posts.

Top comments (0)