DEV Community

Cover image for 4 lesser known free comment hosting services better than Disqus
Deepjyoti Barman
Deepjyoti Barman

Posted on

4 lesser known free comment hosting services better than Disqus

A few days ago I was developing a page for a client and one of the requirements was having a comment section in the blog posts, which made me wonder, how should I go about implementing a comment hosting service.

I did brainstorm for a while about implementing it on my own but then I had that feeling it would take some time because a lot of things would have to be taken into consideration like anonymous comments, nested comments etc.

As I am, I ended up looking for open source comment hosting services. First I wondered around the likes of Disqus and spot.im and then I started looking for open source alternatives. I was surprised by the amount of open source software available just for that.

Sergey Lisakov eventually has a whole page for just that. I have to say this page has it all, each and every open source comment hosting service and we can sort them by a lot of different categories. It's exaggerating in a way, like, which one should I use.

After a whole lot of Let me try this and I swear this would be the last one, I finally zeroed down on 4 of them which I think are the best ones.

Read the whole post here

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
jcubic profile image
Jakub T. Jankiewicz

Nice but no comments on the site to see how your best solution works.

Collapse
 
deepjyoti30 profile image
Deepjyoti Barman

Yeah. This post was written way back and I recently updated my personal site so the comments part is gone.