DEV Community

Paidamoyo-Janet aka “Myles”
Paidamoyo-Janet aka “Myles”

Posted on

"The Next 21 Days"

I'm giving myself 21 Days to jumpstart my career in tech.

That's such a blunt statement but the truth is I've been looking at a very short list of things that I need to do to feel ready for a job as a Developer Advocate.

In the back of my mind, this list of things contain the things I need to do and skills I need to have (despite any disability or shortcoming I might face) that I need to be able to have or show at any given moment. They are the things I've held on the back-burner or overcompensated for.

The first thing is my portfolio. I never really finished or made it live. I always came to a point where there was always a later and later never came for so many things. Ultimately I want my portfolio to have these things:L

  • 6 projects that show my all my talents.
  • 3 blog posts that talk about tech.
  • 3 YouTube videos (1 featuring me live coding original code)

When I look at it...this list is daunting. I've never finished a project I started on my own, building the portfolio has always been frustrating, and I know that I don't know how to edit videos.

Over the next 21 Days (November 19, 2020 to December 10, 2020) I am going to get this portfolio done and gain the skills I need to be job ready.

Top comments (0)