DEV Community

Paidamoyo-Janet aka “Myles”
Paidamoyo-Janet aka “Myles”

Posted on

TN21D: Day 1-The Blogs I Wish I Wrote

Day One. Usually you'd think of new, fresh. Not today. Day One starts with a problem confusion and regret. I regret not having written this blog sooner.

Every time I have ever decided to write a blog about my journey into tech I end up spending 6 hours jumping down rabbits holes of projects I should write a blog about starting and of course I start the project and I forget to write the blog.

Today, I am going to write the blog. No more excuses, no more rabbit holes.

First things first, I told Twitter I would do it (because that's how I start things in tech I guess?)

• I would like to start making YouTube videos
🦚 P2: SOLUTIONS
• I decided to write this blog post.
• I will write another blog about going through @freeCodeCamp Basic JavaScript course for my @TechtonicaOrg application.

— dev_advocate_myles (@advocatemyles) November 19, 2020

Next I cloned the repo for this project:
https://github.com/erostribe/classsed-graphql-mern-apollo

At this point I desperately need a break. I know that this project is going to take 6 hours and I only have 4 free hours, so I pause. I decide to get lunch and go on a 30 minute walk. This is something I never do, but I also end up tired, frustrated and feeling cooped up and boxed in.

I have 3 work hours left, so I decide to build the landing page for this project in my portfolio. The Landing Page generally gives every project a space where I hope to add technology I learn later. In the code its where I explain exactly what I hope to put there. On the user side it has links to the project.

I ended up taking a nap and there went the remaining 3 hours of work time before I had a JavaScript meetup. In the end I'm glad that I slept, because I managed to eat during the meetup and now I'm ready to look at this with a clear(er) head.

My purpose for today feels complete. I wanted to find something that would add substance to my portfolio and blog about it. Day One COMPLETE. I'm going to schedule some time to work on completing the project (Saturday or Sunday most likely)

Top comments (0)