DEV Community

Cover image for Nevertheless, She coded: Sharon Telewa

Nevertheless, She coded: Sharon Telewa

Happy International Women's Day!✨💖👯

My name is just Sharon, I do not have any nicknames(at least that I know of)

Where do you work?

B. Braun Group

What do you do?

I work as an Innovation and Business Development Manager at B. Braun Group, a healthcare company that manufactures medical devices and solutions. My job entails identifying internal and external innovative ideas which we can develop into new products to protect and improve the health of people across the world.

Who or what inspired you to pursue the career you have today?

My high school Physics teacher inspired me to study engineering at the University. Since then, I've had an incredibly supportive network of mentors who have influenced the changes in my career path to what I'm doing today.

What is your favourite music genre?

My playlist has a little bit of everything - from Jazz to traditional Luhya music.

what is your secret talent that no one knows about?

Knitting and Crocheting

My advice for allies to support underrepresented folks who code is...

First, never stop learning. Stay curious and updated in your field.
Second, it is okay to have a non-linear career path. Keep an open mind and always be on the look out for new opportunities.

How do you keep yourself up to date in your field?

I read - a lot!

How would you describe your job to a bunch of 5 year olds

I find new companies which can be friends with my company, and we can all play together and make cool products that help sick people feel better.

What cool thing are you working on right now?

I'm currently supporting the roll out of our new company strategy. It's exciting to see how a company that was founded over 180 years ago is adopting new technology and preparing for the future.

What was your first job?

I was an ICT4D Intern at a Community Knowledge Centre.

What are the toughest challenges you've had at work?

Overcoming Imposter Syndrome and learning to negotiate and advocate for myself.

What upcoming technological innovation will dramatically impact the industry in the next five years?

Artificial Intelligence and Robotics are dramatically changing the Healthcare industry, from enabling early detection to AI-assisted surgeries.

What skill do you think everyone should learn?

Hard to pick one - but I'd say everyone needs to pay as much attention to their soft skills as they do to their technical skills. Emotional intelligence, great communication skills and creative problem solving skills will get you very far.

Have you taken a huge leap of faith at work? Did it pay off?

Yes I have. I quit my job to move to a new country for a 1 year fellowship program that had no guaranteed future after that. It did pay off. I experienced a lot of growth over the one year, and the work that I did during the fellowship built a foundation for a new job with the same company.

How can we follow you?

Follow me on Twitter

Top comments (0)