DEV Community

Leonardo "leonzera" Andrade
Leonardo "leonzera" Andrade

Posted on

How building in public helped keep going on

I've been reading articles here in Dev.to for a couple of years and some helped me in certain topics, so I've been thinking how I could give back that help and I've decided to....write a article!

But about what?

The most exciting thing in my 2-years career in Web Development: My first web application developed from zero to deploy.

In November last year I was fired from my last job and I confess that, among all the other layoffs, it hurt me a lot because it happened days before my wedding and I couldn't stop thinking about what it would be like to get married without a job.

And the exhaustion of going through so many unanswered processes or reading the “thanks for signing up, but we won't get you” thing over and over haunted me for days (and some days, it still haunts me) enough to make me think about quitting development and look for another job in another career.

But for some reason I still believed that I shouldn't give up, so I took courage and decided that I would develop something to keep me active and maybe turn it into a product good enough to be able to become a SAAS.

The idea behind Tasky is a problem that I've faced myself:
Using multiple apps to manage tasks, clients and projects and ending up getting lost between them. And Tasky resolve this problem getting all of this in one only application, and do more than another applications.

So I got to work and started building Tasky, and I did it in a different way, publishing updates on Linkedin every time I updated the application using the title "Card done, post done" and with each post published I became more motivated to continue and believe that this would earn me some invitations to selection processes and take me back to the job market, or at least show my connections that I am still active and coding.

'The dashboard of Tasky, with two tables and 3 cards'

There are still some implementations to be done, but seeing how far I've come and what I've learned in these two months still motivates me to continue and believe in better days for Leonzera, the Dev Cowboy.

My LinkedIn, to follow posts and connect with me
https://www.linkedin.com/in/leonandrade/

And my portfolio in Portuguese, telling a little more about myself
www.devleonzera.com.br

See you later!!!

Top comments (0)