DEV Community

Cover image for How I making my career transition and why?
Mariana Souza
Mariana Souza

Posted on

How I making my career transition and why?

Just a note before I started: I'm from Brazil, I speak Portuguese, and I'm learning how communicate with the rest of the world with English, so, i'ts for pratice, take easy with me and my beginner english. Thanks, let's go!

The career of technology always been in my radar!

As soon as I finished my high school, I knew I needed a challenge. I wanted to stand out in on carrer super important and dificult. Wasn't been like my ordinary colleagues who chosen for a lawyer, dentist or journalist. I wanted more.

Until here it seemed like a dream movie coming true, a girl ready to break down barriers, overcoming prejudices, but it wasn't. I didn't have good support around me, no one to encourage me to do something like that.

So I gave up. I had nineteen years old and ready to stare in my second option for a career: A personal trainer. A little different, right? Yeah, I think too. But anyway, I thought it was possible to work with this my whole life. And guess? I wasn't. Neither as a personal nor as a school teacher, I beggin hate all the fitness world. It was less than 10 years. Do you agree with me that's not a whole life?

So I gave up. In time and twenty-nine years old now, I let my young teenage inside me finally happy. I entered the IT area.

Now the question begins: how?

How I wanted it to start 10 years ago, in college. I'm currently studying System Analysis and Development college, and I'm loving. I thought will be it was so difficult to started learning again, in like mediavals ways, but the college is realy great, even thought its a distance learnig.
Next to that I’m currently studying on HTML, CSS, JavaScript, Node.js and Java and learning about React.

I seek to experience both the backend, frontend and data science areas. Why? Because I wanna. I wanna try an little of each area to make sure I'm choose the right area for specialize more harder.
No more stupid sentences, I promise.

What I think is super useful its make part of communities, in discord for example. At least it works for me. This it has to do with how is your personality. I'm a so much extroverted and communicative person, what's help me in networking and I'm also not have shame of ask. Helps a lot. I joined these communities through social networks, for example: Instagram, LinkedIn, Twitter and GitHub. I'm already do calls with people in differents states in my country because I have a problem and I'm not could resolve alone. It's so cool, meeting people with different accents. It's a nice experience. Do you have to try!

This help you understand it every dev senior beginner like a dev jr some day. Which it normal to confuse with programming logic at the first time or with the thousand of steps of Git.

You just need to keep try a little more.

I'm not give up, I'm trying, and trying, until make a teenage dream come true.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
mortylen profile image
mortylen

Nice encouraging article. I wish you the best of luck on your IT journey. Keep studying.