DEV Community

Cover image for Top 5 DEV Comments of the Past Week
Gracie Gregory (she/her) for The DEV Team

Posted on

Top 5 DEV Comments of the Past Week

This is a weekly roundup of awesome DEV comments that you may have missed. You are welcome and encouraged to boost posts and comments yourself using the #bestofdev tag.


Sometimes getting tips on "little" things like how to delete node_modules like a Pro make life a lot easier. We appreciate the tip, Nirazan.

I recommend github.com/tbillington/kondo instead.
It's fast, is a single tiny executable (thanks, Rust), doesn't come with its own node_modules, and supports not only npm projects.

Coding is a whole lot like detective work, so we think that alternate path would've suited you well, Jasper!

Detective! Love puzzle solving and thinking outside the box 😎

Great to hear about your journey to coding, Angelo. Thanks for the inspiration and sharing your experiences with the community.

I myself was a US military veteran for 8 years from age 21-29. At age 30 decided to quit and transition to be a civilian, as a front-end developer. I taught myself at night times when both my wife and son are Zzzz by watching tons of youtube videos, googling/searching articles, and reading docs. Now, I have my own youtube channel hoping to help out someone like you as a payback to the community that once helped me. Writing and creating vids when my wife and son are Zzzz as well πŸ˜ƒ. You may check out my channel when you get a chance - youtube.com/channel/UCFIwa5Eqf4kN1... might be a good coincidence us meeting here :D

It is definitely doable. You will definitely get a job no matter what type of IT you chose to pursue as long as you put in the time. I highly suggest to keep building websites or apps.

Good luck and God Bless!

It can be a real struggle to successfully juggle side projects, and Ash offers us some wisdom to keep us going. Thanks!

I heard once "Don't worry about reaching perfection, you'll never get there anyway," and really liked that quote.

Great post about having realistic expectations of ourselves and our time, and I love the idea behind Peerlist! Cheers! 🍻

Liyas is celebrating an awesome win from last week β€” and we're right here cheering them on, too! I'm sure it was a fantastic talk.

Spoke at GitHub Satellite India


Hoppscotch crossed 28k GitHub stars

Docker containers collectively crossed 460k+ pulls

See you next week for more great comments ✌️

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

Thank you and congrats @qm3ster , @jmdejager , @angelomiranda , @ash_bergs , & @liyasthomas !

Collapse
 
frontendengineer profile image
Let's Code

thank you Gracie!

Collapse
 
jmdejager profile image
🐀πŸ₯‡ Jasper de Jager • Edited

πŸ•΅οΈβ€β™‚οΈ Thank you! 😊

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

Congrats @jmdejager !!

Collapse
 
jmdejager profile image
🐀πŸ₯‡ Jasper de Jager

Thank you 😎😊