DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Gracie Gregory (she/her) for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹

Looking back on your week -- what was something you're proud of?

All wins count -- big or small πŸŽ‰

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Getting a promotion!
  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Cleaning your house...or whatever else that may spark joy πŸ˜„

Alt Text

Happy Friday!

Top comments (93)

Collapse
 
vaibhavkhulbe profile image
Vaibhav Khulbe

Getting back my lost friend. β™₯

We didn't interact for more than 6 months, she apologized and we are now on good terms again :)

Frienship GIF

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

This made me very happy to read. So glad you and your friend reunited!

Collapse
 
vaibhavkhulbe profile image
Vaibhav Khulbe

Thank you πŸ€—

Collapse
 
akdeberg profile image
Anik Khan

I envy yu in a good way😊 I miss my friend because of this lockdown

Collapse
 
vaibhavkhulbe profile image
Vaibhav Khulbe

Ah, I can relate to that. Fret not, good days are coming. Stay connected with your friend. :)

Thread Thread
 
akdeberg profile image
Anik Khan

Yeah hoping for better days🀞🏼

Collapse
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

That's nice. It's best to let go of things that stop people being friends.

Collapse
 
vaibhavkhulbe profile image
Vaibhav Khulbe

true! :)

Collapse
 
vtrpldn profile image
Vitor Paladini • Edited

This week I switched to yoga after a month of generic stretch exercises. I'm still very far from where I want be fitness wise--working from home made me a rusty robot--but it is good to get some mobility back. πŸ˜„

Collapse
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

I bought a new pair of trainers can't wait to run in them.

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

I'm with you! I've been using my indoor exercise bike without doing really any stretching for over two months!! I really need to get back into stretching and yoga.

Collapse
 
hayleydenb profile image
Hayley Denbraver πŸ‘©β€πŸ’»πŸ₯‘

I completed a couple of milestones with respect to job searching. Next week I am getting ready to move, so it was nice to make some progress this week.

I also got news that my most recent conference talk (virtual) was the best attended non-keynote talk of the event. πŸŽ‰ That was awesome.

Collapse
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

Oh that's great news what was your talk about?

Collapse
 
hayleydenb profile image
Hayley Denbraver πŸ‘©β€πŸ’»πŸ₯‘

It was an introductory security talk.

Collapse
 
juniorrubyist profile image
Joseph Geis • Edited

I started and shipped a new project in the last 3 days. It’s a Twitter bot that queries the Can I Use? database and responds to you with compatibility info, which can be good for use in discussion threads.

I wrote about it here, too.

Collapse
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

That's really good. I often refer to can I use for subtleties that may come up.

Collapse
 
juniorrubyist profile image
Joseph Geis

Thanks! I hope you get a chance to check it out.

Thread Thread
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

Just did.

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill • Edited

I had a quick chat with a recruiter at a big tech company. Nothing may come from it, but it feels like a career win to have someone talk me to "on the inside".

I also has fun building a Vaporwave influenced CSS stylesheet for stylestage.dev.

Collapse
 
caroso1222 profile image
Carlos Roso

Published updates to my game logoquiz.dev/. Check it out if you want to procrastinate a little bit this Friday.

Collapse
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

Just played it. Really well made.

Collapse
 
caroso1222 profile image
Carlos Roso

Thanks mate!

Thread Thread
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

image

Thread Thread
 
caroso1222 profile image
Carlos Roso

Good work! I got some more levels in the making, will release soon :D

Collapse
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

Playing that this weekend.

Collapse
 
thomas_sweet profile image
Thomas Sweet

Only made it to level three so far :D Really well done!

Collapse
 
caroso1222 profile image
Carlos Roso

Thank you! Glad you enjoyed it :D

Collapse
 
jonoyeong profile image
Jonathan Yeong

I hit my goal of 6 blog posts published in 2020!! It might not seem like much, but I've posted more this year than all my other years combined.

Collapse
 
somedood profile image
Basti Ortiz

This week, I shared the most memorable JavaScript videos throughout my JavaScript journey thus far. Apparently, hundreds of people also deemed it quite valuable. πŸ˜…

Collapse
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

Nice πŸ™‹

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•
  • Created the website for Awesome Web Monetization repository
  • Changed my desk, he's in wood and more big. Nice for docs and double futures screens 🌱
  • Created multiple issues on Dev.to (but doublons rip)

β˜•πŸ™ŒπŸΌ

Collapse
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

Sounds like you've been really productive.

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

Yeah I'm really happy πŸ™ŒπŸΌβ˜•

Collapse
 
ahferroin7 profile image
Austin S. Hemmelgarn

Not at all work related since I've been on vacation this week, but I finally finished watching all of Bleach (I've been working on it on and off for the past 6 months, glad I watched it but not likely to do so again), finally got around to watching The Mandalorian (far better than I expected given my views on most of the movies since the Disney acquisition, really looking forwards to the next season) and BNA (actually sad that the series is so short, which is rare for me), and finally got started watching Dragon Ball for the first time (and wow, blatantly obvious that it's from the late 80's just from the first 5 minutes of the first episode).

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

I should really check out Dragon Ball also.

Funny memory was finding my dad watching it when I was a kid β€” he quickly changed the channel to the news (my parents were trying to limit the number of cartoons I watched) πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Especially funny because, by that point, Dragon Ball hadn't been on the air for years, so good old dad was deep into reruns.

Collapse
 
ahferroin7 profile image
Austin S. Hemmelgarn

Prior to watching it now, all I've ever seen of the entire franchise is a few bits and pieces of some of the Dragon Ball Z episodes. The original series definitely shows it's age in the animation style (not bad, just 'vintage'), the humor (some of which even in Japan probably would not make it to the air as-is today), and the multiple minute long intro song (both the duration and the style), but still has a lot of the ridiculous over-the-top silliness that I love about shounen and seinen series.

Collapse
 
kayis profile image
K

I started doing my taxes for 2019! :D

That and also a win from 2019, when I digged through my invoices.

I found out that I made 2/3 of all of my money with writing in 2019 and even 10% with the book I wrote in 2018.

Collapse
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

I'd like to earn more money through writing as well.

Collapse
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

My win this week was creating a tutorial for an app. But I don't mean the kind of tutorial that is written and posted as an article.

The client wanted one of two things, there was an option for an infomercial and a tutorial which runs on the app programmatically after somebody logs in.

They chose the programmatic tutorial. And I was more than happy to design and build one. It took roughly 2 days to complete and there were a few little changes here and there that they asked for.

As a result I feel good and they feel good.

Big win!

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

Yay!!

Collapse
 
merri profile image
Vesa Piittinen

Been looking for a new job and I had a successful technical discussion over phone so I got to round three. Is a good thing as I was a bit tired yet could give rather sharp answers, and my previous tech interview didn't go well at all. Oh and the call was "unexpected" as I only knew roughly the time of day the call would come, but didn't know which day.

And I'll be massively unlucky if my current team member reads this post :D

Collapse
 
vtrpldn profile image
Vitor Paladini

I suffer from an undiagnosed form "tech interview anxiety" and not knowing exactly when a recruiter would call would make me insane. πŸ₯΄

Good luck with the next rounds!

Collapse
 
merri profile image
Vesa Piittinen

Thanks!

I've had my own anxiety, the last time I was jumping to a real developer position for the first time and it was hard, but I've learned enough stuff from the professional side of things in the past seven years that I'm confident on the skills and strengths that I have, and I'm also very aware of my weaknesses. My strategy is based on honesty: if something I say, or the way that I am bothers in some way, then that place wouldn't be a good fit anyway :)

Thread Thread
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

Terribly honest and so true.

Collapse
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

So you mean if your current team member reads the post they know that you're leaving?

Collapse
 
merri profile image
Vesa Piittinen

Yup. So far I've told to only two of them.

Thread Thread
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

Ok

Collapse
 
msfjarvis profile image
Harsh Shandilya

Was finally able to get a new icon for the app I maintain :D

Major UI overhaul and the introduction of a new icon #920

πŸ“’ Type of change

  • [x] Bugfix
  • [ ] New feature
  • [x] Enhancement
  • [x] Refactoring
  • [ ] Dependency updates

πŸ“œ Description

Re-do the light theme to be a constant white, make all text input boxes use a consistent and legible accent color for box stroke.

πŸ’‘ Motivation and Context

The box stroke for text input is currently gray, which is illegible on the dark theme. This PR fixes it up to match our accent color on both light and dark themes, improving legibility and bringing some consistency. The light theme has not had a change in literally years and I decided it was time for some dazzle.

πŸ’š How did you test it?

Visually

πŸ“ Checklist

  • [x] I formatted the code with the IDE's reformat action (Ctrl + Shift + L/Cmd + Shift + L)
  • [x] I reviewed submitted code
  • [x] I added a CHANGELOG entry if applicable

πŸ“Έ Screenshots / GIFs

Screenshots

screenshot-20200705-224218

screenshot-20200706-162008

Collapse
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

I love checkboxes in my github issues 🌞

Collapse
 
msfjarvis profile image
Harsh Shandilya

Checkbox all the things ✨

Thread Thread
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

Linked issues is my next favourite thing

Collapse
 
kenanajkunic profile image
Kenan Ajkunic

This week I started a new project! Feeling quite motivated in these corona times surprisingly. Hope to make a lineup of tools for privacy that will make it easy and not just be used by tech savvy people. Unfortunately privacy is a thing people glance over. Hope I can contribute and change that :)