DEV Community

Joseph Geis
Joseph Geis

Posted on

Can I Use? Twitter Bot

Hello! I made a tweetbot (Twitter bot?) that can query the Can I Use? database in your threads.

It is simple to use. All you have to do is Tweet this: @caniusebot !![query], where [query] is your query. Here's a sample:

You'll get a response within 20 seconds like this:

If you aren't satisfied with the response, there is also a link to your query on caniuse.com.

Did I mention that it is open source, too? It’s on my GitHub.

GitHub logo juniorRubyist / caniuse-bot

A Twitter bot for Can I Use?

caniuse-bot

A Twitter bot for Can I Use?

Usage

Mention @caniusebot on Twitter in the following syntax, where [query] is your query.

@caniusebot !![query]



If you have any issues (like it isn't responding), please tag me on Twitter (not the bot), quoting your querying tweet.

Also, please let me know what you think!!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
fallenstedt profile image
Alex Fallenstedt

This is a pretty cool twitter bot. How did you make it?

Collapse
 
juniorrubyist profile image
Joseph Geis

So I wrote it in Python and it utilizes the mentions timeline and status endpoints of the Twitter API, and it polls every 20 seconds (to avoid rate limiting). I then cloned the Can I Use? repo and pointed the data json to the bot worker, and it should update every night on a cron job.

I forgot to mention that it is open source on my GitHub page.