DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Gracie Gregory (she/her) for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

👋👋👋👋

Looking back on your week — what was something you're proud of?

All wins count — big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Getting a promotion!
  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Cleaning your house...or whatever else that may spark joy 😄

Have a great weekend!

Weekend

Top comments (62)

Collapse
 
jarodpeachey profile image
Jarod Peachey

I just got hired for my first part-time remote web development job! 🎉🔥

Collapse
 
frankszendzielarz profile image
Frank Szendzielarz

Well done! Now you can move to a low cost country, sit near the beach with your laptop, and congratulate yourself for being semi retired already!

Collapse
 
borisborisov profile image
Boris Borisov

Hi Jarod -

Congratulations on your first remote job!

For developers looking for a remote job -> remotemore.com/candidates

Collapse
 
bebezi profile image
Bebe Zi

Wow congrats!

Collapse
 
fultonbrowne profile image
Fulton Browne

I finally got an old thinkpad of mine running coreboot and gentoo and I started work on a new linux project that you guys will hear about by October :]

Collapse
 
gabriela profile image
Gabi

This week I had my first PR merged in a JavaScript open-source project. :) Fixing a bug.

Collapse
 
michaelgee profile image
Michael Gee

I reached my first 100 followers and 150+ reaction post here on DEV 🎉

I used to get discouraged and have no incentive to create blog posts due to a lack of visibility and feedback but that has definitely changed with this great platform and community.

Looking forward to continuing sharing my recourses and knowledge here on DEV 😄

Collapse
 
mazentouati profile image
Mazen Touati

I quit my job.

It may sound kinda controversial but by doing so I feel some much relieved and refreshed. It was a fine experience in term of income and time flexibility however it included a lot of headache for multiple reasons like using outdated/boring workflows and having a disorganized priorities. I felt very demotivated lately. It was like being frozen in the same position. Consequently, I decided to step out in order to relax, learn new things, and plan for my next step.

Collapse
 
merri profile image
Vesa Piittinen

Did the same two months ago. Things are much better now :)

I had my first real week of work and have survived information dump so far, and had my first PR merged. Also had my first talk on my role and was nice to find out PO agreeing on what I should focus on first. Tons of responsibility awaiting as well as a need for learning new kinds of skills.

Collapse
 
mazentouati profile image
Mazen Touati

That's great, congratulations 🎉

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕ • Edited

Forked a repository and updated CSS 🐱‍🏍
— Had a driving lesson and I'm at the very end, 2-3 hours and I can pass the license 😁

Collapse
 
brewinstallbuzzwords profile image
Adam Davis

I decided to try out some basic graphic design for my post header images by taking a class on skillshare. Yesterday I made my first post after taking the class, and I'm pretty happy with the results.

Collapse
 
maulik profile image
Maulik

I have mentored a fresher remotely. Today is the last day of his training and he sent me a text

I'll never hesitate to tell anyone that you are the greatest mentor I have ever had. The way you teach the way, the way you give real-time examples and the way you motivate.
because of you, I am trying to go beyond the limits
Very very excited to meet you in person
Thank you so much, sir for being my mentor

It made my day... gonna have a sound sleep today

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard

My open-source project reached 666 stars on GitHub, which sounds just right for a tool against dependency hell

Collapse
 
kenystev profile image
Kevin J. Estevez • Edited

This week I've learnt a lot of git stash
Before this week I'd been using it the simplest way possible

$ git stash
$ git stash (apply | pop)

Now I've played (almost ruined the local changes in my project) a lot more with other options like:

  • Git stash -p // iterative mode
  • Git stash -u // stash also untracked files
  • Git stash (apply | pop) stash-key // pop or apply other entry different from the last one
  • Git stash show -p --summary stash-key // display stashed changes as diff
  • Git stash -m"message" // add a custom message to recognize on list
  • Git stash list // list all stash stack
Collapse
 
king11 profile image
Lakshya Singh

Thanks for this

Collapse
 
s_aitchison profile image
Suzanne Aitchison

Totally not coding related, but after a long long process, I adopted this little guy this week! I'm sure he'll be helping remind me to take regular screen breaks 😊

brindle lurcher dog lying on the floor

Collapse
 
juliathepm profile image
Julia Flash

Completely qualifies as a win Id say

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Congrats! I got a greyhound a few months back and I love her so much. And commence the doggy pics:

First one up, my dog Cora! She is a 7-year-old greyhound and loves a good nap.

https://dev-to-uploads.s3.amazonaws.com/i/a4lrds1d96s9gfy8xcjr.jpg

☝️ from this post with other great pet pics.

Collapse
 
s_aitchison profile image
Suzanne Aitchison

Cora! 😍 She looks so cosy with her wee teddy ♥️

My lad's called Ty - he's a 2 year old lurcher 😊 Still settling in but he's already picked his favourite snoozing spots and told off the local cats 😂

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

OH MY GOODNESS. He's gorgeous. I love greyhounds and I ADORE brindle greyhounds. Thank you for sharing! 🤗

Collapse
 
vtrpldn profile image
Vitor Paladini

I've added one more DEV badge to my collection 🎉🎉🎉

Collapse
 
cchana profile image
Charanjit Chana

Had a productive week despite/because of some time time off! Here are 5 things that were great wins for me this week:

  1. Finally implemented a most popular page on my blog driven by real viewing figures: 1thingaweek.com/mostpopular
  2. A native share option added to all featured websites on SITEJOY.dev
  3. Completed all of our decorating that we started in January
  4. Walked 10km yesterday
  5. Getting ready to start a new job next month
Collapse
 
alainacodes profile image
Alaina

I got to the final interview round of a company that I really, REALLY think would be a good fit. Even if I don't end up getting an offer, it helped me work through a bit of my Imposter Syndrome.

Collapse
 
thinkverse profile image
Kim Hallberg

I fixed one of the most important things in a GitHub Learning Labs course this week, a typo. 😎