DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Michael Tharrington for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Heyo 👋

Have a wonderful weekend. 😀

Looking back on this past week, what was something you were proud of accomplishing?

All wins count — big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Gardening 🌿

Edward Scissorhands is deep in focus while furiously trimming away at a bush... the camera is pointed up at Edward's face and upper body whil he flails his scissory hands wildly and little bits of shrubbery go flying. We're unable to see what he's cutting which builds suspense.

Top comments (32)

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

Published a new book over the weekend! I've been planning to publish this one for a very long time now!

Collapse
 
wraith profile image
Jake Lundberg

Congrats!

Collapse
 
codenameone profile image
Shai Almog

Finally got my new "JVM" to compile and run the first application (a prime number calculator). A lot of work remains and the execution doesn't go smoothly but it's finally compiling after ~3 months of work!

Collapse
 
emmysteven profile image
Emmy Steven • Edited

I'm converting a spring boot application from package-by-layer to package-by-feature architecture.

However, I'm trying to remove the dependency between features; for example, I want to remove the direct reference of the Member entity in the User entity.

public class User extends BaseEntity {

    @Column(nullable = false, unique = true, length = 50)
    private String username;

    @Column(nullable = false, unique = true)
    private String email;

   @OneToOne(mappedBy = "user", cascade = CascadeType.ALL)
    private Member member;
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
public class Member extends BaseEntity {

    @Column(nullable = false, length = 50)
    private String firstName;

    @Column(length = 50)
    private String middleName;

    @Column(nullable = false, length = 50)
    private String lastName;

    @OneToOne(fetch = FetchType.LAZY)
    @JoinColumn(name = "user_id", referencedColumnName = "id")
    private User user;
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

I'm trying to figure out how I can return memberId for a User every time I fetch the user entity without referencing the member entity in the User entity or creating a relationship between both

Collapse
 
codenameone profile image
Shai Almog

You can use an interface there but I would keep that dependency. The goal is to minimize dependencies for clear separation but since the entity layer maps to the DB and the DB has a relation I think it's legitimate to have some relation in place.

Thread Thread
 
emmysteven profile image
Emmy Steven

Thanks a lot, I really appreciate the feedback.

Collapse
 
sadeedpv profile image
Sadeedpv🥇 • Edited

My Vscode Extension finally crossed 100 installations

Collapse
 
_eduard26 profile image
Eduard Constantin

I managed to publish an npm package for my doticons collection

Collapse
 
thatcomputerguy profile image
Griff Polk

Posted my first design of Mac 40th anniversary art!
Check it out here, pretty basic.

Collapse
 
mateusabelli profile image
Mateus Abelli

I fixed a bug on Forem github.com/forem/forem/pull/20218

Collapse
 
carlarjenkins profile image
Carlarjenkins

Got my Medium blog post published in AWS in Plain English Medium publication. aws.plainenglish.io/aws-she-builds...

Collapse
 
wraith profile image
Jake Lundberg

Started the new job (event though I got sick the night before my first day 😷) and earned the Top 7 Badge!

Collapse
 
tony972 profile image
Taxman972

I finished one of my side project.

Collapse
 
domnyus profile image
Domnyus

Started my project archangeluslog.com, but I got nothing with that. I am still working and I hope, at least, help people to track their learning

Collapse
 
lukeskw profile image
Lucas Porfirio

Getting up from bed everyday was what I managed to do, and it was good enough for me this week. Finished another chapter from a frontend course that I left aside too

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

I've definitely had seasons in life where that was enough. Kudos to you and hang in there.

Collapse
 
dumebii profile image
Dumebi Okolo

You did so good! I'm proud of you. 🤗

Collapse
 
gyauelvis profile image
Gyau Boahen Elvis

Wrote an article that has gotten over 10,000+ readers, my highest so far

Check it out: dev.to/gyauelvis/programming-langu...

Collapse
 
dumebii profile image
Dumebi Okolo

Congratulations 🎊 🎊

Collapse
 
gyauelvis profile image
Gyau Boahen Elvis

Thank you

Collapse
 
montyharper profile image
Monty Harper

I completed my 5th (and next to last) assignment in the Udacity iOS Developer nano-degree course. And, it passed on the first attempt! That's a first for me. Last project is "you choose" so I can finally focus on making a calendar for my mom, whose dementia keeps her from being able to use a regular calendar.

Collapse
 
dumebii profile image
Dumebi Okolo

Yaaay! Way to go! 🥳

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

Hmmm. I got put on a new AI project, and I got to see my first final chapter from the book. We're about 50 days away from publication and things are going well!

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

I also had two big L's this week on book projects I wanted to start in the spring getting rejected.

Collapse
 
dumebii profile image
Dumebi Okolo

So sorry about the Ls you got. But super congratulations on your wins!!

Thread Thread
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

Thank you!

Collapse
 
jarvisscript profile image
Chris Jarvis

I had two PRs accepted for HacktoberFest. Submitted an issue on another Repo.

Earned an Icebreaker Badge.

Collapse
 
dumebii profile image
Dumebi Okolo

That's amazing. Congratulations 🎊 🎊