DEV Community

Richard Dewey Hammers
Richard Dewey Hammers

Posted on

Building my first website

I got through phase 2 learning Ruby Sinatra and I just finished my final project, building out a CRUD. I decided to make my website theme on anime. The user can create a new post by searching up a anime name and then add there review, current eps and there rating. They then can either edit there post or delete it. I watch a lot of anime, so I though it be cool to be able to make a list of all the anime's that I have seen in the past and that I'm currently watching.

What I have learned from going through this phase was, I have a better understand on how databases work and how to use them. Using Active Record with Ruby really helps take a lot of stress out of having to write out all the sql. I also got a better understanding on url paths GET and POST with PATCH And DELETE. I will be moving into Ruby on Rails in my next phase which will really help take a lot of the set up out that I had to do with Sinatra.

Top comments (0)