DEV Community

Richard Dewey Hammers
Richard Dewey Hammers

Posted on

The reason I want to become a software engineer

The reason I want to become a software engineer is because I want to get a job that I love and that I can put my creative side to use. I'm married with a son and want to support them as well as set a good example to my son that through education and hard work you can succeed. How did I grow to love to code? I got interested in coding through learning some basics in game building through a online video class on C++ and C#. I then thought that maybe I should start to learn full stack web development and learned HTML, CSS and Javascript.

I wanted to take on a new challenge and put all the skills that I have learned over the years into good use by taking on a bootcamp and scoring that job at the end of the road. Why did I decided to take on a coding bootcamp? Learning with a cohort and having a teacher there too support me on my road to code is something that I wont get out of self teaching. I love the structure that a online coding bootcamp has to help me grow to the point I got the job.

Top comments (0)