DEV Community

Cover image for L5/Senior developer, what's next?
Diego Uribe Gamez
Diego Uribe Gamez

Posted on • Updated on

L5/Senior developer, what's next?

Index

Introduction

After growing up in my career through levels 1 to 5 (Junior, medium, senior), it was time to jump to a highest category, and there is a question, how to level up? At this point, when is already known that you are at a certain level, you should know how to go up to the next level, and it is important to review the lessons learned first (from my perspective) to be able to understand what is the next step and prepare for what is coming.

Return to Index

Economic awareness

To level up you need to be aware of how you are leading your lifestyle and how to improve it, personally, it wasn't difficult to realize that I was wrong. The problem was to fix the things or situations that was already done wrong and the biggest mistake was on the financial area, where I got into debts as soon as I got my first job. Even though I wouldn't say that I did not enjoy it but also I couldn't say that I invested that money correctly because it was for immediate pleasures.

Return to Index

In order to overcome these economic problems, the first step is to realize when this mistake is constantly being made, and when we have an inconvenience to realize about our own problems, it is important to be open minded on what others say about ourselves and to be willing to hear what their opinions. In my personal case, the first person to bring up this topic was John Freddy Vega from Platzi, who says firmly that getting out of debts and having control of the economy can help us to move forward, then I started watching YouTube channels that talk about finances and good financial habits, such as Paths of Success esp between others.

The next step is to start changing financial habits and focus on paying debts without borrowing more money during the process. Hence, the reflection learned is that getting a debt can happen in a quick moment, some of those decisions can take less than 30 minutes, but paying off debts can take years.

  • Luke 14:28: For example, who of you wanting to build a tower does not first sit down and calculate the expense to see if he has enough to complete it?

The personality

The second aspect that must be taken into account is how to improve our own personality, because it can always improve and it is also true that we all have defects, so it is important to constantly work this personal aspect by not thinking about pleasing other people, but realize that our personality can give a positive contribution to everyone around us.

To get into details, we must take into account how we can educate ourselves in this area, as well as we can educate ourselves in the technological area in institutions like Platzi or free platforms like YouTube for financial matters. Then, to improve my personality, I realized that I need to work on my spirituality and my moral principles.

The best education I found to work my personality is Biblical education, and not a moral education based on zealotry but rather an education based on principles and laws that are not difficult to accomplish in order to benefit the ones around me and myself. Also, taking into consideration that I am not judging anyone or imposing my beliefs, but without forgetting that I can educate on this path and share these benefits. In JW.org I managed learning lessons like the ones listed below:

  • Pr 22:3 The shrewd one sees the danger and conceals himself, But the inexperienced keep right on going and suffer the consequences.
  • 1 Cor 23 All things are lawful, but not all things are advantageous. All things are lawful, but not all things build up.
  • Pr 17:9 Whoever forgives a transgression seeks love, But the one who keeps harping on a matter separates close friends.
  • Ga 5:22,23 On the other hand, the fruitage of the spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faith, mildness, self-control. Against such things there is no law.

Meditating on these tips and many others has changed my personality for good since this education has educated me to understand that it is not only about having knowledge in technology or financial processes but in knowing how to apply this knowledge to take good decisions.

Return to Index

Point Zero

The last step is to return to a zero state, which is the moment where we can start again without the world pressures such as economic responsibilities or daily labors. It is about doing something that makes you happy and to simplify life. For me, this moment has arrived, the one to keep on strengthening the lessons learned and look forward for a true happiness that consists in complaying my purpose towards God and loving others and the rest of things will be given on the way.

  • Mt 6:33 “Keep on, then, seeking first the Kingdom and his righteousness, and all these other things will be added to you.

Return to Index

Thank you all who have accompanied me on what I have been on my way, and I hope to continue growing among all of you.

Top comments (0)