DEV Community

Cover image for Work and play in PHP 7.4 & PHP 8.0
Roberto Rivera
Roberto Rivera

Posted on

Work and play in PHP 7.4 & PHP 8.0

The classic Dev dilemma, you get comfortable in a language or tool and then there is an update. Do your projects stay with the version that you know? Or do you try and upgrade to a new version as soon as possible?

I decided to try and find a way to work in 7.4 but experiment with 8.0. Eventually all of my newer projects will adopt the latest versions but I want to be flexible.

I found working with two different versions of PHP on the same device to be very hard. I tried to find different methods but weren't entirely happy with the results. Therefore, I created a PHP toggle! A Bash script that will allow users to comfortably switch between versions with a quick command.

Now to preface, I'm totally new to Linux and Bash and realize that there are probably better ways of doing this. But I thought I would share what I did and maybe work shop things. See if this helps other people.

#!/usr/bin/env bash
# shellcheck disable=SC2005
modExists="$(php -v:0:7)"
modExists=${modExists:0:7}

case $modExists in
"PHP 8.0")
a2dismod php8.0
a2enmod php7.4
update-alternatives --set php /usr/bin/php7.4;;
"PHP 7.4")
a2dismod php7.4
a2enmod php8.0
update-alternatives --set php /usr/bin/php8.0;;
esac

php -v
systemctl restart apache2
systemctl status apache2

Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

I've been using this for a while and so far it's been working like a charm. Happy Hacking everyone! I have a gist as well here:
toggle.sh

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
sroehrl profile image
neoan

Awesome solution!
For windows users: with wsl2 you can easily switch between distros with the -d flag and mount them to the current directory.

e.g. wsl -d Ubuntu

Assuming you have various distros with various testing scenarios, you can use that to easily run tests or applications in different distributions, versions etc

Collapse
 
nicolus profile image
Nicolas Bailly • Edited

Hey, congrats on your first post ! That's a pretty nice solution too.

What I usually do with my LAMP stack is use php-fpm, run all versions I need at the same time, and then in my apache VirtualHost set the correct handler for php files depending on the version I want :

<FilesMatch ".+\.php$">
    SetHandler "proxy:unix:/run/php/php8.0-fpm.sock|fcgi://localhost"
</FilesMatch>
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

or

<FilesMatch ".+\.php$">
    SetHandler "proxy:unix:/run/php/php7.4-fpm.sock|fcgi://localhost"
</FilesMatch>
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

That way all my projects run at the same time without needing to switch from one version to the other, except for the CLI where I still need to run update-alternatives

Collapse
 
lito profile image
Lito

To test a project at same time with multiple PHP versions I have a default virtualhost with project name and version alias:

<VirtualHost _default_:80>
    ServerName project.localhost
    ServerAlias php74.project.localhost

    DocumentRoot /var/www/project/public

    <FilesMatch \.php$>
        SetHandler "proxy:unix:/var/run/php/php7.4-fpm.sock|fcgi://localhost"
    </FilesMatch>
</VirtualHost>
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

And a second virtualhost with each other version to test:

<VirtualHost _default_:80>
    ServerName php80.project.localhost

    DocumentRoot /var/www/project/public

    <FilesMatch \.php$>
        SetHandler "proxy:unix:/var/run/php/php8.0-fpm.sock|fcgi://localhost"
    </FilesMatch>
</VirtualHost>
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

You should remember to add this hosts to your /etc/hosts file:

127.0.0.1 project.localhost php74.project.localhost php80.project.localhost
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Cheers!