DEV Community

Dwayne Lacey
Dwayne Lacey

Posted on

Mock CPU/ISA in Python

This project was my final programming assignment within the computer science career path on Codecademy. Utilizing Python my goal was to mimic the way a CPU processes information. I chose to hone in on the memory management and instruction set architecture side of things and establish the processor and it's registers, as well as a cache and main memory. The program works by retrieving instructions from a text file to process and first fetches instructions from the cache (which will fetch them from the main memory) and then decoding them and performing them. My instruction set architecture primarily replicated the MIPS32 architecture with a couple modified instructions that I did not see within the dev documentation. If you'd like to check the project out, it can be found at github.com/Dwayne-Lacey.

Top comments (0)