DEV Community

Daniel Mills
Daniel Mills

Posted on

You should stop using Thing

I'm not a big fan of Thing.

I find that it is too restrictive, and I find the thing process to be painful, with resulting configuration being far to complex to easily tinker.

On the other hand, I'm a huge fan of NewThing.

I do NOT believe that NewThing is the solution to all problems, and that anyone who uses OtherThing instead of NewThing is wasting their time (I personally still use OtherThing for all professional projects), but I definitely believe that NewThing is appropriate for the large majority of hobbyist and small-scale front-end web applications out there.

I recently asked the DEV community to provide me with code to review, and whilst reviewing one of the Thing.js projects (created using Thing) I decided that in order to properly implement import aliases, I was going to replace Thing with NewThing.

And so I did, and it was a relatively short and pain-free process, completed in under 5 minutes!

Top comments (0)