DEV Community

Cover image for I built side-project helps you find cool open source projects and join them
Dominik Ilnicki
Dominik Ilnicki

Posted on • Updated on

I built side-project helps you find cool open source projects and join them

tldr; Tool that let you find latest GH issues meant for newcomers and help you start contributing to the open-source

link: https://justcontribute.netlify.app

Motivation

For some time I was thinking about joining some open-source project. I believe that's is a huge opportunity to gain some experience in real-life projects.

But I was struggling in finding projects I can join. I'm a beginner so I was looking for some small less popular repos. It wasn't too easy, because I needed to browse GH typing some long weird queries, checking is there any open issue that I can handle, etc.

My solution

I created site that let you provide programming language and popularity of issue that you want to get and it presents you issues that:

  • are open
  • have at least one of the "newcomers welcoming" label (good first issue, up for grab, easy, etc)
  • doesn't have linked pull request
  • no one is assigned to them
  • conversation is unlocked
  • are in public repos

Tech stack

Front-end: react, scss
Back-end: node, express js

I built this whole thing in just 2 days so if you have any suggestions, feedback, or getting some errors please let me know in comments!

Top comments (13)

Collapse
 
eswari profile image
Eswari Jayakumar

Cool Project !! Very useful for Newbie Open source developers !!!

Collapse
 
dominikilnicki profile image
Dominik Ilnicki

Thank you!

Collapse
 
ashikpaul42 profile image
AshikPaul42

Hey OP, Great work. 😍

I tried to search for JavaScript->Low, the page went blank. It's a slice issue(saw in the console). 🥺

Collapse
 
dominikilnicki profile image
Dominik Ilnicki

Thank's for the feedback.
I've fixed that slice thing, try again 😃

Collapse
 
codebyjustin profile image
Justin

Dude I love the app you made. I really need to get my got contribution's up this is gonna help tons.

Collapse
 
dominikilnicki profile image
Dominik Ilnicki

I'm glad it helps you!

Collapse
 
sirawit profile image
Dragodzs

Nice Project! I love it.

Collapse
 
raghavk16 profile image
Raghav Khullar

Great one! I'm gonna play around with it a little maybe

Collapse
 
honeycomb profile image
Haja S. Childs

This is wonderful thank you!

Collapse
 
lioliveiraz profile image
lioliveiraz

Hello,
Great idea!!
I am having a problem with API. I cannot find any project for JS.
There is a CORS problem.

Collapse
 
dominikilnicki profile image
Dominik Ilnicki

Hi, thank you! Sth weird happened to the nodejs backend. It should be okay right now.
Also, I'm redesigning the UI and adding some extra features to the app, the next version will be soon 👀

Collapse
 
hasobi profile image
Hasobi

Bro, can you provide the repository link? Thanks.

Collapse
 
dominikilnicki profile image
Dominik Ilnicki

Hey, I'll publish a repo in the close future but I need to organize code first