DEV Community

Cover image for Day 533 : Wild
HIPHOP and CODE
HIPHOP and CODE

Posted on

Day 533 : Wild

liner notes:

  • Professional : Whew today was WILD! haha So I didn't go to sleep last night. I had to finish up some stuff for my workshop and my examples were not working! haha So I stayed up to troubleshoot. I haven't pulled an all-nighter in years haha. Next thing I know, I'm finally finished, pushed my changes, double checked things and had like an hour before my workshop. So I meet with the event organizer to make sure the tech works to be able to do the presentation. Everything is good. I'm tired, but ready to do the workshop. I created a site where the workshop attendees can visit and follow along with the slides, ask questions, answer poll questions, send thumbs up, and listen to the audio in case the video took up too much bandwidth. Everything was going great until I noticed that my slides started to move on their own. I thought it was latency or a bug, but someone hopped on the call and said they were able to move the slides by pressing the arrow keys on the keyboard. I thought my setting the "controls" parameter to false in the presentation software that I disabled others from changing the slides. Guess not. That was only for the onscreen controls. I had the organizer cover for me by talking about the events happening tomorrow while I searched for a solution. Found that there is a separate parameter to disable the keyboard controls. So I set that and pushed the code and tried again. On my end, I wasn't able to use keyboard control, but still had the onscreen controls. That's what I was expecting. But had the same issue. In all the rush, I don't remembered if I changed the "listening channel" that control the viewers slide so that the slides would only respond to my actions. So to get things back on track, I changed the channel and password and did the presentation and shared my screen. Then my computer decided to go all slow on me. haha I'm going to do more testing and get it working for my next workshop next month. This will teach me to put together a project in a week and throw it out there for the public to mess with it. haha. After the workshop, I was wiped! haha Had a couple of other meetings, then I basically took a nap. Overall, I think it went well. I got through the presentation and more people are familiar with the awesomeness of Web Components. Can't complain.

  • Personal : Basically spent the night working on my workshop.

Two huge trees with branches almost touching the ground in Warm Woodland with the sun shining between the trunks.

Yeah, I'm probably going to do some light coding if any at all. There's some stuff coming up that I want to plan for. Maybe watch some anime and call it an early night.

Have a great night!

peace piece
Dwane / conshus
https://dwane.io / https://HIPHOPandCODE.com

Top comments (0)