DEV Community

Cover image for Day 535 : Approach with Caution
HIPHOP and CODE
HIPHOP and CODE

Posted on

Day 535 : Approach with Caution

liner notes:

  • Saturday : Did the show again from my van since my co-host wasn't going to make it to the station. I got a bunch of stuff done before the show. Worked on my side project and made a pretty big dent. I don't really remember what else. Did the radio show and had a good time. The recording of this week's show is at https://kNOwBETTERHIPHOP.com

Radio show episode image of a screenshot from an ITT Tech commericial with it's phone number and logo with the words Feb 19th 2022, French Connection

  • Sunday : Did the https://untilit.works study sessions. Got a bunch of stuff done. Did my laundry, radio show promo stuff, refactored some code on my previous project and worked on stuff for my current side project. Spent the rest of the night getting caught up on some anime.

  • Monday : It was a holiday so I spent the day planning out a trip to Europe for work. There's a few places I'm trying to squeeze in to see. I want to be as thorough as possible and approach with caution as this is my first trip over there. I don't want to burn myself out. I also finished up a talk abstract to submit to conferences. Did more work on my side project. It's coming together.

  • Professional : Had a pretty productive day. Met with my manager and showed them my plan for my European trip. They thought it was good. Also spoke about the stuff I'll be working on this sprint. One is a project I was working on before being asked to help out with a couple of other things that needed to be completed sooner. Going back to the project, I was surprised how much I got done. I basically finished it up today and sent the demo for my coworkers to check it out and give me some feedback. From there, I'll clean up the code and work on another part of the project. I submitted the talk abstract to a couple of conferences. We'll see what they say. This is my first time so I'm not really expecting much. haha. Had another meeting about expanding on a proof of concept that I helped out on. They are getting really good feedback on it and look to move forward with it. Also, after a little bit, a blocker has finally been cleared so we can move forward on another project. I helped with a question in the Community channel. Not a bad day to start off the week.

  • Personal : Going to work more on the user facing side of my side project. Working on a section that will show information depending on the mode I set from the admin dashboard I created. I noticed that there was an issue with the deployed admin site not showing up, but it worked fine in development mode. Turns out that a library that a package relies on uses require, which is a thing only in the server and not the browser and I was trying to use the library in the browser. After a bunch of research and coming up empty, I had to download the package and have it be served from the hosting server. Seems to be working so far. I'll probably have to do the same thing for the user facing site. We'll see. But so far, all the pieces are coming together.

Photo from a cove in Phuket, Thailand with a large rock formation with some ferns on it jutting up out of the water.

Tonight I'm going to do some more work on my side project. Going to work more on the sections that display depending on the mode set from the admin dashboard. Think I'm going to work on the part that was giving me issues from the admin section and get them hooked up together. Probably end the night watching some anime.

Have a great night!

peace piece
Dwane / conshus
https://dwane.io / https://HIPHOPandCODE.com

Top comments (0)