DEV Community

David Johnston
David Johnston

Posted on

Cross posting from your blog to Dev.to. A good idea?

Been in a bit of a creative rut recently, and I'm figuring that the best thing to do, the thing I'm most inclined to do, is make blog posts about anything and everything.

I definitely want to do this as part of my own blog where I fully control the content. I've learned a lesson (nicely articulated by Austin Kleon in his book Show Your Work) when I ran a 'Humans of' page that was a Facebook page only. It now kinda sucks that all of that content is just on Facebook and I've since lost the original photos, the accompanying text only there etc. I wish I'd set up a blog like the original Humans of New York did.

So the question is - should I cross-publish all of my blog posts to Dev.to and Medium as well?

Is this a common practice? I've had a quick scroll through my Dev.to feed and I can't see many people back-linking to their blog.

As I see it:

Pros Cons
More exposure A bit of work setting it up programatically
Native conversation/reply functionality within the third party mediums Back links on the posts look spammy
Possible adverse SEO affects for the blog?

What say you?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
dwjohnston profile image
David Johnston

Can you explain what you mean a bit more about canonical urls?

You mean I can just point to the URL of my of blog, and dev.to/Medium will make a post out of it? That's fantastic!