DEV Community

Cover image for Cyberpunk 2077 on Linux
Dyslexicjedi
Dyslexicjedi

Posted on

Cyberpunk 2077 on Linux

I picked up Cyberpunk 2077 on GOG at 50% off for black friday. I had a bit of trouble getting it to work on Linux (POP!_OS), here are my steps in case it helps someone else.

First, I spun up Lutris and the game downloaded and installed fine. But when I tried to launch it, it first crashed, then on second launch it played but felt like I was watching a stop motion video.

After googling, I found proton-tkg which is a patched version of Steam's proton. Downloaded:

wget https://github.com/Frogging-Family/wine-tkg-git/releases/download/6.17.r0.g5f19a815/proton_tkg_6.17.r0.g5f19a815.release.tar.gz
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Unpacked it

tar xf proton_tkg_6.17.r0.g5f19a815.release.tar.gz
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Then I linked it to the runners and restarted Lutris.

ln -s /home/<user>/Downloads/proton_tkg_6.17.r0.g5f19a815.release/files/ /home/<user>/.local/share/lutris/runners/wine/proton
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Selected the proton item under the Runner Options:

Image description

I've been playing for an hour now, it's smooth and hasn't crashed. YMMV

Good Luck Have Fun!

If you liked this post:
Buy Me A Coffee

Top comments (0)