DEV Community

Cover image for My first month in Percona as a Technology Evangelist
Edi🦕
Edi🦕

Posted on

My first month in Percona as a Technology Evangelist

It's been a month since I started working at Percona. This post is to share my experience this month.

I received a very warm welcome from my team David, Aleks, Fredel and Daniil. I had my first one-on-one with Matt Yonkovit, who walked me through the weekly and long-term plans, reiterating the opportunity to be creative, which was amazing!

Image description

Virtual Coffees ☕️🍪
I met with various Perconians experts at virtual coffees, where I had the opportunity to learn more about the culture and adventures in Percona. I spoke with wonderful Perconians like Marcos Albe, Sergey Pronin, Michael Villegas, Anastasia Alexandrova, Aimée Ng, Natalia Marukovich, Mario García, and Denys Kondratenko.

Image description

Tech 💻👩🏻
After completing my Onboarding process, I began reviewing Percona's technical documentation, open source projects, and installation processes. I loved playing with different technologies, like PMM, Docker, Kubernetes, AWS (EKS, CloudFormation), PostgreSQL, MySql, MongoDB, and more didn't explore yet.

In my second week, I focused on installing PMM using Docker, there are different ways to install PMM, and it was a lot of fun playing with all these technologies and making notes for content creation.
I also submitted my first PR to introduce myself to the Percona community and I published my first blog in Percona 🤩

Image description

Questions ❓🤔

One of the things I learned from one of my mentors was the importance of asking questions at work; it doesn't matter if these questions are silly if I need to understand something better or have a different perspective I will just ask.

Image description

Celebration 🎂🍭
We celebrate Los 16 años de Percona, so we will meet all Perconians where we celebrate it with a cake and a lovely meeting! I met Peter Zaitsev Co-founder and CEO of Percona.
Image description

WTT 💃
I am part if Women Transforming Technology - Mentorship Program in Percona.

In this program where we can connect, empower and inspire women in all areas and levels of the organization and provide a safe platform to make an impact in the open-source community and beyond. I will meet the amazing team next month 😊
Image description

Goodbyes 👏🏾🐠

We said goodbye to Matt Yonkovit, my manager, who accompanied Percona for a long time and who interviewed me for the first time in Percona. We'll meet up soon at some of the Open Source events, Matt!

Image description

Image description

It was a fascinating four weeks!
If you want to know more about Percona, do not hesitate to write me, happy to answer!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
ngl4 profile image
Cindy Lam

Love this! Thank you for sharing Edith!! Asking questions is the key!!!