DEV Community

Edgar Lindo
Edgar Lindo

Posted on

Why is my "hello world" disappearing after adding the connection code from MongoDB Atlas in my REACT app?

Why is my "hello world" disappearing after adding the connection code from MongoDB Atlas?

The code is fine and showing "Hello world!" on my 3000 port, and as soon as I add the mongoose.connect function, then the port 3000 goes blank and the "Hello world!" disappear. What could be happening?

Yes, I did install mongoose on package.json

`import React from "react";
import ReactDOM from "react-dom";
import "./index.css";
import reportWebVitals from "./reportWebVitals";

const mongoose = require("mongoose");

mongoose.connect(
"mongodb+srv://:@cluster0.gcyyo.mongodb.net/test?retryWrites=true&w=majority"
);

const partSchema = new mongoose.Schema({
partN: "string",
description: "string",
});

const Part = mongoose.model("Part", partSchema);

ReactDOM.render(

Hello world!


,
document.getElementById("root")
);`

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
elindo586 profile image
Edgar Lindo • Edited

Apparently it doesn't like the import {render} syntax

and I don't know why I can't even upload an image... but this is the error:

Compiled with problems:X

ERROR in ./src/index.js 8:0-6

export 'render' (imported as 'render') was not found in 'react' (possible exports: Children, Component, Fragment, Profiler, PureComponent, StrictMode, Suspense, __SECRET_INTERNALS_DO_NOT_USE_OR_YOU_WILL_BE_FIRED, cloneElement, createContext, createElement, createFactory, createRef, forwardRef, isValidElement, lazy, memo, useCallback, useContext, useDebugValue, useEffect, useImperativeHandle, useLayoutEffect, useMemo, useReducer, useRef, useState, version)

Collapse
 
elindo586 profile image
Edgar Lindo

Well.. thanks.. I will try that... as soon as I solve another problem that I will post on it.. :P getting tons of errors after I npm mongoose

Collapse
 
elindo586 profile image
Edgar Lindo • Edited

I ended up using something like below from the mongoose docs.

I think it is working because it isn't breaking my "hello world"... I'll try to manipulate some data later see if I have an actual working connection.

```const mongoose = require('mongoose');

main().catch(err => console.log(err));

async function main() {
await mongoose.connect('mongodb://localhost:27017/test');
}```