DEV Community

Elvis2280
Elvis2280

Posted on

Help, how to organize or to create a study plan

Hello, I'm curious about how other developments organize the time for study, I'm in the university but I have a problem, when I study CSS or javascript I expending all my day on that, I just can't stop, I feel I need have control or balance about my study. I hope someone can help me with ideas :)

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
kshitizkhandal profile image
Kshitiz Khandal

Try slots schedule don't give any extra minute except free time if you want to. Firstly hard to manage in starting but you will get it how to arrange your slots without giving up whole day and to put maximum efforts from them. : )

Collapse
 
elvis2280 profile image
Elvis2280

thank u so much for your reply and idea, you can explain how that works or if you have some article about that :)?

Collapse
 
kshitizkhandal profile image
Kshitiz Khandal

so my friend in my university sem i was looking for such kinda idea which works perfectly for managing time between my subjects and my interest. So i started searching for some ways to do it. You will find a lot of videos about time management but they won't work according to every person daily routine . So i have to made some major changes like dividing subjects according to their difficulty levels and give them time according to it like physics and calculus slots have more time as compare to environment science and and other low level subjects and after this the major deal is to give time to interest which is on top. somehow i manage to give my interest 3 hrs per day after all these slots and if you have free time then utilize them i your interest and skills. : )

Thread Thread
 
elvis2280 profile image
Elvis2280

thanks men, I'll organize my priority and give more time to that :)

Collapse
 
recursivefaults profile image
Ryan Latta

One thing that I've found useful over the past few years is the Pomodoro Technique. It was created by someone in university who wanted to maximize their study effectiveness.

At it's core, you use a timer set to around 20 minutes. During that 20 minutes you ignore and prevent ALL interruptions. That means ignoring email, roommates, significant others, etc. You also are ignoring mental interruptions. This it he wandering mind, the mind that cannot maintain focus. The mind that only wants to give 20% of its energy to the task at hand.

At first, you will struggle to make it 5 minutes without interruption or breaking focus.

Anyway, you use this technique to not only train your focus, but also organize your efforts. You can now dedicate a number of pomodoros to an activity.

Before you scoff at the idea that 20 minutes isn't enough, this is 20 minutes of 100% intense focused mind. Twenty minutes like that is worth 1-3 hours of what normal people bumble around doing.

The official site is here. I also wrote about it on my site here.

Oh, as a footnote, set targets for what you want to learn. Make them super small so you can achieve them. This might be a little different then school study. So for example you might set a goal of learning about javascript scoping. At the end you have some sample code that you wrote where you have hands-on experience with it.

Good luck!

Collapse
 
elvis2280 profile image
Elvis2280

oh, men that look really good, I'll follow that technique, maybe is hard when I start to be 100% concentrate but I think it will get better, thank u so much for share that

Collapse
 
prakh_r profile image
Prakhar Yadav

I’m also in university and struggled with this issue. The thing I do is jot down what all things I need to do academically on the next day(or the same day).
I divide the day into major chunks. Like from 11 to 2pm I’ll be done with my Task1. Similarly to all other tasks. Once the major tasks are done, go ahead and do your additional learning at night. But be sure to get into bed strictly by 12 midnight.
So try that. Tell me if that works

Collapse
 
elvis2280 profile image
Elvis2280

I get it, thank u so much for your tip, I'll apply that in my routine :)