DEV Community

Emma Goto ๐Ÿ™
Emma Goto ๐Ÿ™

Posted on

Blogging with a growth mindset

Is there a point in blogging?

I've thought about starting a personal programming blog a couple of times before, but I always struggle with finding a reason to do it. I worry about whether anyone will read it, whether the posts I write will even be useful, or on the off-chance that someone does read it, that they will think it's terrible or not worth their time.

Even talking about these worries right now, and being open about my feelings, is something that I struggle with.

Lately I've been binge-reading a bunch of self-help books, and came across Carol Dweck's book about fixed and growth mindsets. To sum it up:

A person with a fixed mindset believes that their abilities/intelligence are fixed from birth and cannot be changed, while a person with a growth mindset believes that they can be improved through hard work.

When it comes to blogging (and other areas of my life too!) I see in myself a fixed mindset - I look at all the amazing content that other people put out, and don't see myself ever being able to do the same thing. And it's hard to change this mindset!

So I think all I can do now is recognise that I have this mindset, and push through it. I'll blog, even if I think my posts are terrible, knowing that the more I blog, the more I improve, and maybe someday someone will find the posts that I write useful.

(๐Ÿ‘‹ This is my first time posting on DEV, so hi! Let me know your thoughts!)

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
lautarolobo profile image
Lautaro Lobo

Hi Emma! Well, yes, blogging will help you grow.

dev.to/rachelsoderberg/junior-deve...

That post really helped me to get the courage to start my personal blog, and I'm very proud of my little work already done.

Think of it as a way of self-improvement, reinforcing your knowledge, and showcasing it.

Cheers!

Collapse
 
emma profile image
Emma Goto ๐Ÿ™

Thanks for the link, I'll check it out!

Collapse
 
healeycodes profile image
Andrew Healey

I hope you keep blogging! You write very well.

Your website has an awesome design too. Clean and unique with perfect colours.

Collapse
 
emma profile image
Emma Goto ๐Ÿ™

Thanks so much! It currently gets single digit views per week so you are one of the lucky few to have seen it :)