DEV Community

Cover image for My Favorite Teachers In The JavaScript Community
Emma Bostian ✨
Emma Bostian ✨

Posted on

My Favorite Teachers In The JavaScript Community

There are so many resources in the world of tech that it's hard to sort through and pick the right resource for you. There are so many courses, blogs, and podcasts to choose from, so I've put together a list of some of my favorite teachers in the JavaScript, and frontend development, community. Feel free to leave your recommendations below!

Brian Holt

Brian Holt

Brian has many incredible, and easy-to-follow courses on Frontend Masters. His React courses will take you from beginner to expert in just a few hours. Plus, he's just a genuinely nice person.

Kahlil Lechelt

Kahlil Lechelt

I'm a bit biased with this recommendation, because Kahlil is my co-worker, however I have learned so many things from him during my year at LogMeIn. Kahlil runs a JavaScript meetup in Karlsruhe, Germany and posts relatable blogs over on his personal website.

Dan Abramov

Dan Abramov

Is it any surprise that Dan made this list? He's one of the most approachable and prevalent React developers on Twitter. His teaching style is super easy-to-follow and he's not afraid to admit when he doesn't know something. I highly recommend subscribing to his newsletter.

Sarah Drasner

Sarah Drasner

Sarah is another incredible teacher in the developer community. Her tutorial on Vue and SVG animations have been invaluable to me. She also writes blog posts over on CSS Tricks which I highly recommend you check out.

John Lindquist

John Lindquist

John is one of the nicest, and smartest, people you'll ever meet. He was one of the co-founders of the popular tutorial site Egghead.io and consistently produces great content. His tutorials are bite-sized and easy-to-digest.

Jacob Schatz

Jacob Schatz

I first heard Jacob speak at Vue.js Conf Amsterdam and was blown away. He was able to break down Design Patterns, a previously dense topic, in a totally fun way. Plus, he's extremely charismatic and will entertain you the whole talk!

Ali Spittel

Ali Spittel

It's no surprise that Ali makes this list. She posts amazing blogs here on Dev.to and makes great content for beginners. Plus she's a positive influence within the tech community.

Kyle Simpson

Kyle Simpson

Kyle Simpson is the teacher who finally helped me to understand JavaScript. He has amazing Frontend Masters courses and publishes his You Don't Know JavaScript series for free on GitHub. He is truly a master of JavaScript and an all-around nice guy.

Kent Dodds

Kent Dodds

Kent is superb at teaching many different things. You can find him on Egghead.io as well as Frontend Masters. His content is extremely easy to digest and he's really helpful if you have any questions.

Rick Hanlon

Rick Hanlon

I first saw Rick speak at Vue.js Amsterdam and his presentation blew me away. He spoke about testing with Jest and did so in a Fresh Prince of Bel Air format. Not only is he super entertaining, but he makes learning complex subject matters a breeze.

Joe Previte

Joe Previtte

Joe makes great tutorials over on Egghead.io. His course on Figma design makes it easy to learn prototyping. Joe is super active on Twitter and always exudes positivity.

Eve Porcello

Eve Porcello

Eve makes amazing tutorials about GraphQL over on Egghead.io. I've taken many of her courses over on Lynda.com. She teaches React, Webpack and more!

Jason Lengsdorf

Jason Lengsdorf

I've known Jason for several years; we worked together at IBM. And since we've met I can tell you he's been such a joy to work with. He holds amazing live casts for Gatsby (my favorite React static site technology), and is always willing to help.

Lindsey Kopacz

Lindsey Kopacz

Lindsey is extremely knowledgeable in the world of accessibility. She has been more than helpful ensuring that my components meet W3C accessibility compliance. She posts blogs on her personal website and also makes courses on Egghead.io.

Greg Sidelnikov

Greg Sidelnikov

You may know Greg as JavaScript Teacher on Twitter. He produces incredible content (for free!). He's published several books including JavaScript Grammar and The CSS Visual Dictionary.


These are only a handful of the people who have helped me along in my coding journey. Feel free to leave your favorite teachers down below!

Top comments (65)

Collapse
 
magbello157 profile image
Muhammad A.G. Bello

Great list. One person I would add is Brad Traversy. He's an amazing full stack developer with superb ability to explain programming concepts. Simplicity, even pace, down to earth. An amazing guy too from what I can see of his tutorials and opinions

Collapse
 
traversymedia profile image
Brad Traversy

Thank you very much :)

Collapse
 
magbello157 profile image
Muhammad A.G. Bello • Edited

You're welcome, Brad. The least I could do is recommendation. I have benefitted immensely from your free and "underpriced" courses, thanks, in no small part, to which I'm on the brink of a career change.

Collapse
 
dewaleolaoye profile image
Adewale Olaoye

Every tutorial with a project, Brad is cool.
Wants to learn new feature, I search his content on YouTube first...

Collapse
 
monfernape profile image
Usman Khalil

Yup. He's so unique

Collapse
 
vr1_____ profile image
Bruno Gonzales

I got my first job thanks to his Vue.js crash course back in 2017

Collapse
 
alemesa profile image
Alejandro Mesa • Edited

This list is great but is missing some unicorns:

The Udemy band rocks too

Collapse
 
tylermcginnis profile image
Tyler McGinnis

Just seeing this. Your comment means a lot. Thank you.

Collapse
 
alemesa profile image
Alejandro Mesa

Respect man you're simply the best, congrats on launching the hooks course btw 😃

Collapse
 
jmurray90 profile image
Jake Murray

And Jonas Schmedtmann!

Collapse
 
alemesa profile image
Alejandro Mesa

That's correct, I forgot

Collapse
 
hugoliconv profile image
Hugo • Edited

Wes Bos and Andrei Neagoe are excellent teachers and Dan Shiffman's videos are pretty fun, they make you enjoy programming

Collapse
 
jenlooper profile image
Jen Looper

+1 on Dan Shiffman, he's a very gifted teacher!

Collapse
 
traversymedia profile image
Brad Traversy

Thanks friend

Collapse
 
gene profile image
Gene

I see him here. Hey! It's Jaime Garcia you're missing. He's creative way of teaching is top-notch.

Collapse
 
dreadfulbadr profile image
abdallah awwad

Cory house, Wes bos, Andrew mead, Stephen grider.

Collapse
 
val_mxo profile image
Oragbakosi Valentine

I think Brad Traversy should have made the list. His YouTube channel is awesome and he is a super cool guy

Collapse
 
parshirahul profile image
Rahul Parshi

The most underrated youtube channel and person is The net ninja . He is the best teaching ninja for front end technologies and he produces all his content for free. His youtube videos rarely have one or two dislikes[Which i guess they pressed dislike button wrongly]. I am happy that i am following his channel from the beginning.

please check out his youtube channel link:
youtube.com/channel/UCW5YeuERMmlnq...

Collapse
 
grena_me profile image
grena_me

Net Ninja is one of the rare tutors. He makes everything complex feel like breeze. I love his courses too.

Collapse
 
aspittel profile image
Ali Spittel

Thank you so much Emma, you are definitely on this list too :)

Collapse
 
3sanket3 profile image
Sanket Patel

If I would make a list, you both will be surely in.

Collapse
 
garethhgriffith profile image
Gareth Griffith

Have to throw in these guys as well:
Daniel Shiffman: outside of an amazing professor i had in grad school I attribute Shiffman with my decision to become a developer. I always think of him as awquardly awesome! Such a brilliant, kind, and humble guy.
MPJ: fun fun function is amazing and as I transitioned to a focus on JS in my career he has consistently kept me inspired and excited to keep learning. Another brilliant, down to earth educator

Collapse
 
uddeshjain profile image
Uddesh

Great list, But just a suggestion try Will Sentance. He is a great teacher and helped me to learn how JavaScript works under the hood. You can find him on frontendmasters.com . By the way, Brian Holt, Kyle Simpson, Sarah Drasner are my favorite ones.

Collapse
 
devpinheiro profile image
Samuel Pinheiro

Flavio Copes @flaviocopes on Twitter
Brad Trasversy

Collapse
 
dylanesque profile image
Michael Caveney • Edited

I was kind of blown away when I recently checked out Front End Masters; I had seen a course or two on Pluralsight, but the presentation is so high quality, and a lot more warm and human than a lot of other learning resources. That really makes a hug difference. I've particularly loved Shirley Wu, Will Sentance, and Jem Young's workshops on that site.

Collapse
 
devnic13 profile image
Lisa

My favorites are Maximilian Schwarzmuller, Jonas Schmedtmann and Brad Traversy.😁

Collapse
 
4rontender profile image
Rinat Valiullov

You must bookmark these guys too, @emmawedekind

Axel Rauschmayer - twitter.com/rauschma;
Nicholas C. Zakas - twitter.com/slicknet;

And this cool russian guy also (creator of PostCSS and Autoprefixer):
Andrey Sitnik - twitter.com/andreysitnik;

Collapse
 
bpkinez profile image
Branislav Petrović

In addition to the listed authors there is also one of the greatest authors that I watching: Mosh Hamedani

He has great courses on JS, React, Angular and other topics and video quality is outstanding.

Collapse
 
moremooredesign profile image
Jeremy Moore

Just started following him for Angular.

Collapse
 
jacobmgevans profile image
Jacob Evans

Someday 😂... I will stand on the shoulder of these giants.

Collapse
 
dewaleolaoye profile image
Adewale Olaoye

For me, Andrew Mead, Andrei Neagoe, Brad Traversy, Chris Nwamba