DEV Community

Cover image for enchantedForest[4]
Kevin Hsu for enchantedForest

Posted on

enchantedForest[4]

Today (well technically last night) I dumped most of the Neovim plugins we use into the server configs. Originally I tried to keep the dotfiles on the server to a bare minimum since it had limited storage, buuuuut I decided to just screw that and install ALLLLLLL DE pLUgInS. As Genya Safin from the Grishaverse once said,

"I also shouldn’t have a second buttered roll with my breakfast every morning, but sometimes one must indulge."

However, I didn't feel like installing everything twice for both of our accounts, so I followed this link and set the configs across the system for all users. Cheers to deoplete and Ctrl-/ commenting.

Anyways.

In today's session, Alek and I created a Trello board to have actual task management, as our README.md at this point is about 450 lines. Found a bug on the merchant pop-up dialogue disabling movement, filed it on the Trello board, and (very unfortunately) labelled "clean up code" under the "Nice to have" category. Alek got started on adding checkpoints and portals to the tilemap using Tiled, while I worked on revamping our HUD for a more pleasant interface.

Initially I wanted to jump back to 4 months ago and punch myself in the face for writing the monstrosity that exists in the code base, but then I realized that besides a few naming issues it honestly wasn't THAT bad. Most of the HUD migration could be done by simply moving around the html, with some JQuery portions that required minor tweaks, and then a bit of re-purposing old functions to group the item and quest systems together. Overall it went okayyyyyy.

Lastly, Alek mentioned something about some strands of code being "a work of art", so stay tuned for an art exhibit with that sweet, gorgeous code in our next developer journal *thumbs up*.

Signing off for now
- Kevin

Top comments (0)