DEV Community

Kaylee
Kaylee

Posted on

Which PC

hello everyone

i want to start working on projects to practice what i learn about programming

i want something adaptive smooth and fast. I am hoping someone has a favorite PC that theyve coded a lot on and tested their creations and had a great experience with.

thank you.

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
saiat3 profile image
Saiat Kalbiev • Edited

Hey there,

Any type of PC would work for general programming, but try to stick with ones that have SSD and at least dual-core CPU (quad core better) with 3.0+ GHz. Try to get at least 8 GB of RAM (16 GB better), cause Chrome, Intellij IDEA, Android Studio etc. consume a lot of it.
There are a lot of pre-built PCs, but if you want to get by a little bit cheaper and you are into PC building, you can manage to build on your own.

Collapse
 
erocsrednu profile image
Kaylee

im kinda getting confused because i see reviews for good specs PCs to be bad and other computers with same specs to be good. What it seems is specs doesnt always determine itll work good and i domt want to pay a lot for good specs if that computer doesn't use it well somehow. Im assuming it has to deal with something but i cant seem to find the right terms online everyone acts like its cut and dry like good spdcs mean performance but if 'good' specs are getting different reviews i feel i am missing something. I hope i make sense..

Collapse
 
saiat3 profile image
Saiat Kalbiev

Well, when you are buying PC (especially when building custom one), it all depends on so called silicon lottery. What I mean is that, sometimes there might be a faulty products (generally CPUs). Therefore, my suggestion to you is to buy from Amazon, Newegg etc. where you have an option to send the product back or get the replacement in case of the faulty product.
What about the performance, well, generally the same product will perform similarly in different machines with a small margin of error (-+2%). So if something works for other people, I am pretty sure that it will also work for you. Hope that clears some of your confusion.

Thread Thread
 
erocsrednu profile image
Kaylee • Edited

Well, in concerns to buying prebuilt ones it seems to rely on something else too. My guess is the overlay(if that is an understandable term) my best attempt to explain this: you can buy a nice clean car with no Branding, a nice car with some Branding, and finally a car with so much branding its ugly. This is how i see pre-built PC's except that "branding" is inside as their additional software over top the windows software.

That overlay can contribute to over running the system and making those specs not as good as they should be for the user cause the company is running invisible services which are (for someone of my level of knowledge) unkilable.

This again is my guess, but it seems to make sense but either I am right but have wrong terminology (in order to google to learn how to avoid these things) or I am wrong entirely but something is happening that if a good spec PC has 3 stars and another same spec PC has 4.9 stars.. you know what I mean? I want to google to grt advice but Google doesnt understand what I am asking lol

Thread Thread
 
saiat3 profile image
Saiat Kalbiev

Yeah, I do understand what you mean. I, myself, was in similar situation about 3-4 years ago, when I was searching for PC. I spent about a year learning the PC building industry and hardware in general, at the same time saving extra cash. Even after I was really confident about the parts, I was really scared to buy them cause I knew that there can be faulty parts.
But in my opinion, you just buy what you think is right (after a small research, of course). After you see and experience that PC, it will be your start point. Maybe you will need something more powerful or vice-versa, something less.

It is really hard to advice something unless you try it out by yourself. The good resource can be friends/relatives who might own similar spec PCs, where you can try out (test) your stuff and see if it is right for you or not.

Yes, unfortunately google sometimes does not give you the info you are searching. But there do exist really good tech/hardware oriented forums such as linustechtips, tomshardware etc. where you can also post your questions and you will probably get help.

Thread Thread
 
erocsrednu profile image
Kaylee

Thank you