DEV Community

Evan Wilde
Evan Wilde

Posted on

Hi, I'm Evan

I have been coding for who knows how long. Probably around six years now, actually.

You can find me on Twitter as @etcwilde

I'm currently a computer science masters student at the University of Victoria, working in the area of software engineering practices. I tend to do a lot of work with git, both as a tool and as a research topic.

I mostly use C++, C, and Python, but know Javascript and Java as well. I dabble with Haskell, Rust, Go, and many other languages, but I do not know them well enough to use them extensively. I am familiar with F#, C#, NJ/SML, and ruby.

I am bilingual with my text editors, sitting on both side of the emacs/vim religious war. I started out with Vim, but my supervisor has made me learn emacs as well.

My environment is Linux with the i3 window manager, though that is usually just for having Google next to my terminal. I like the termite terminal emulator, and have tmux running there for managing different simultaneous projects. Generally have a pane open for emacs next to a pane for vim, which looks kind of weird and garners disdain from both communities.

Evan

Top comments (0)