DEV Community

Cover image for Tools for making games
Jae Edeen for Excalibur

Posted on • Originally published at edeen.dev on

Tools for making games

This post is a list of the tools I use when I make games. I use most of the things on this list fairly frequently. Tools that are free and/or open source are marked. Most of the games I make are digital. I use Microsoft Windows on my computer, though most of the software tools here are also available for other platforms.

Code

Visual Studio Code (free, open source)

Visual Studio Code is a cross-platform editor. It supports developing and debugging in TypeScript and a number of other programming languages. There are also a lot of plugins available for any number of use cases.

Excalibur.js (free, open source)

This web-based game engine was designed for use with TypeScript and JavaScript, and I help develop it with a few of my friends. It's worked well for us over the years!

Python HTTP Server (free, open source)

If you're making web games, this is a straightforward way to serve your game up on your local computer. Install Python, type python -m http.server into your command line, and you're ready to go!

Git (free, open source)

Version control is one of the most important tools you can use when you're building a game, analog or digital. I use Git and Githhub to keep track of each game I develop and maintain its change history.

Art

Aseprite

If you want to draw pixel art, this editor does the job really well; I use it as my primary drawing tool for games, and it's well worth the price.

Paint.NET (free)

If you need something a little more general for making art, this tool provides a suite of features for drawing and photo manipulation.

Audio

Bfxr (free)

This tool can generate sound effects quickly and easily. Fine tuning is a bit more work, but it's pretty powerful.

Audacity (free, open source)

If I need to do any editing, I open the audio up in Audacity to cut, paste, level, and mutate it. It's loaded with functionality, most of which I've never even had the chance to use.

Digital Collaboration

Trello (free, subscription available)

Trello is a great way to keep a shared task list, and makes working asynchronously a lot easier.

Excalidraw (free, subscription available)

When I'm not able to meet with my team in person, I use Excalidraw as a digital dry-erase board for drawing pictures and diagrams.

Analog Collaboration

Pen, pencil, and paper

It can be really useful (and also really fast) to make notes and draw mockups. It's much easier to quickly modify a paper prototype than it is to redesign something written in code.

Physical components

Prototyping digital game mechanics (or designing board games) became much easier after I borrowed game pieces from games I already owned. Coins, beads, and other similar items also work well.

Dry-erase board

When I'm working on ideas with a group of people in person, I use a dry-erase board, which I set up on a small collapsible easel.

Top comments (0)