DEV Community

Fabio Catuogno
Fabio Catuogno

Posted on

International experience: where do I start?

Hi! Please note that, despite what the title may suggest, this is not a post to advertize myself nor a “Please hire me!”-cry for help 😅
Also, this may be a little off topic, but I am pretty sure that many of the community fellow devs are in my same situation and could use a piece of advice to point in the right direction!

I am currently working in Milan as a full-stack developer in a software develoment firm for Financial Services. The stack of technologies I deal with everyday is, in my opinion, pretty cool (we work with Spring and Angular 7) and I’ve had the chance to learn a lot since I started with them (about 6 months ago).
However, I have always looked at foreign countries with special consideration (at least, some of them!).
Even though I love my country, I feel like an overseas experience could significantly boost my career and enrich me from a cultural point of view, at the same time.

In this respect, I must say I feel a bit disoriented on where to start. I’ve narrowed the list of countries down to a few (UK/US/Canada/Spain, preference for big cities), but what is the next step?
Do I start networking (and how?)? Do I randomly send my resume to random companies? Should I give up everything and go for the adventure without thinking any further? :D

Feel free to share your advice or, even better, your experience :)

Top comments (0)