DEV Community

Cover image for TL;DR setup Fish Shell MacOS
Fabien Townsend
Fabien Townsend

Posted on • Updated on

TL;DR setup Fish Shell MacOS

Here is TL;DR (too long; didn't read) summary of how to set Fish Shell on your MacOS to get that result:

Example of Fish Shell on MacOS

Here are the commands that I used:

$ brew install fish
$ curl https://raw.githubusercontent.com/oh-my-fish/oh-my-fish/master/bin/install | fish
$ omf install bobthefish
$ set -g theme_nerd_fonts yes
$ brew tap homebrew/cask-fonts
$ brew install font-hack-nerd-font --cask
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

The next step will "fix" the font now being properly displayed:

Open your term2 profile:

term2 profile

Edit the font used:
term2 edition font

Done.

Troubleshoot 1

I had an issue where bobthefish theme wouldn't work out, for that I followed the following steps:

functions fish_promp
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

And then delete the file it pointed out.

Remove omf and fish installation

I initially messed up with my installation, the following command enables me to clean up fish/omf to start from the beginning:

$ omf remove bobthefish
$ omf destroy
$ brew uninstall fish
$ rm -rf opt/homebrew/etc/fish                                
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Top comments (0)