DEV Community

fawazar94
fawazar94

Posted on

best hosting option for a personal website

Hello,
I am wondering about the cheapest / free option to host a personal site where I publish tutorials and stuff that interests me to considerably a small audience. Most of which are written content.
Currently it is built using Wordpress, would making it a static site will be a good idea?

A little bit of background

In black Friday 2018, I've purchased a 3-year package from HostGator which was not so expensive considering that I was making money back then.
Since I was used to write in various forums for Arab blind community, I used my new site to gather all of my tutorials and kept writing there since then.

The situation now

My 3-year plan is expiring now, and I need to move the site. My domain from name.com is somewhat expensive and I can't afford much on the hosting. In the mean time I don't want to just close down the site. It has useful content especially for Arab blind users.

looking for

I can do HTML, Javascript and even PHP or Python, I can use Github or any other technology in that matter.
Nonetheless, I don't know what is the best option in my case. I don't care about having comments on the site, I just love writing and helping others. Should I keep it on Wordpress as CMS or build a static website?
in either case, what are the options in term of hosting?
Keep in mind that I have content already, I am not starting fresh. So it is important to keep my old stuff.

Any help will be appreciated.
thanks.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
fl0rian profile image
Florian

If you tend to go static and there is no dynamic content after migrating to a static page cms you can host for instance on gitlab or github. All you need is a CI-Job that regenerates the pages each time you push something new into the repo.

All costs then are for the domain which ranges between 7 and much more Euros per Year.

Collapse
 
benjioe profile image
Benjioe • Edited
Collapse
 
adamwojnicki profile image
Adam Wojnicki

I'd also suggest Netlify for static page hosting

Collapse
 
gdnovey profile image
Grant Novey

Create your blog with NextJS, host for free on Vercel. If you’d like a front end for writing check out Prismic integration with NextJS.