DEV Community

Rena
Rena

Posted on

Nevertheless, Rena Coded

Tech or Arts? =S

I was always interested in tech, in high school I had chosen a college where I would have a specialty in telecommunication and computer science, but I did not feel completely on my place, something didn't make me feel completely comfortable and I felt that I needed an artistic complement.

Looking at the past I'm not so sure if it was only this idea of ​​mine that led me to look for another path or the voices that never stop questioning you about whether science is the right career for a girl...

So after a complex restart and graduation from high school I enrolled in one of the schools of Fine Arts Institute on textile specialty, I would lie if I said that I did not enjoy my career, but I was always looking for a more efficient way of doing things supported by technology,with interesting results and the concern to experiment with e-textiles. After graduation I was selected for a workshop "Technological appropriation focused on art", which made me feel in a perfect place, creativity, art, technology, logical thinking, the ideal point of convergence of everything that I love, "the tech bug" had woken up with more force than ever and the idea of ​​not being just a user was deeply implanted whereby I started looking for more courses and workshops and Laboratoria appeared.

What is Laboratoria?

A code academy, maybe in other countries is much more common but here in Mexico not so much, less a program like the one they have. I prepared myself as Front-End developer, in an intensive 6 months boot-camp that not included only the technical preparation, as well strengthening soft skills and agile discipline; from the beginning they broke many of the stereotypes that I unconsciously had about the developers, all the time work as part of a team (squad), seeking to strengthen myself and my colleagues abilities, a important point on this Laboratoria only train women.To know why I invite you to check their website.

Sisterhood

So for six months I grew up, I cried, I laughed, I learned code and other important factors for my life with the company of 50 extraordinary, talented and beautiful women; we transform from being strangers sitting at the same table to a sisterhood that joined a bigger one, 'cause we where the fourth generation on Mexico City, but as well the program is running on Peru and Chile :)

Now...

I am an artifice, a creator sometimes with threads or paint in others with code lines, I love both ways, now I work with an incredible team, for an organization that seeks to help women around the world, I have an amazing chance help and impact on the life of others, one of the best things sometimes I do that on my favorite pajamas 'cause I work completely remote, OK that isn't best part but it is a big advantage.

Never imagine how the code would change my life, a year ago I was for the first time in my life in the offices of Google in a small hackaton, it was the first time I was facing a hackathon, we did not take into account the experience, simply the word...
Even today there are challenges that frighten me, there is a lot to be done and learn, but I am fortunate to be in a team always willing to coach me, a sisterhood that support me and is part of my labor to be support, encouragement and accompaniment for every girl and women that need it.

Strengthen the sorority and reach more and more women to empower themselves, one of the super powers that code gives you, all the developers that I know get to the point of super power when we get our code to work the way we want, maybe with a thousand failures before that point, but that feeling there are not enough words to describe it.

To all allies that support women and non-binary folks who code....

I invite you to be role models, let's show to other women and girls how can we make a change, and to all how important is the diversity for better results, but that will only be achieved by making us visible.

If you do not have an example it is more complicated to believe that you can achieve it, so let's join our voices and code lines.'Cause girls code and we do it like rockstars.

Top comments (0)