DEV Community

Cover image for Experiments with eBPF: Snitchrs
Federico Ponzi
Federico Ponzi

Posted on

Experiments with eBPF: Snitchrs

In this post, I will share my experience on learning and playing with Extended Berkeley Packet Filter (eBPF). It's a very cool technology that not anyone might be aware of. It's been a while since I planned to learn some eBPF and this post has some good information for anyone who wants to get started. eBPF is a Linux kernel feature that allows to easily and safely interact with the kernel.

In order to learn how to use eBPF, I decided to implement Snitchrs a simple program that shows on a map to which IPs your computer is connecting to.

I will go through interesting snippets of code I had to write in order to implement this program. This article is not meant to be a tutorial but rather an explanation that will hopefully help you better understand useful things to know in order to write your own eBPF programs. I'll assume some basic knowledge of the TCP/IP stack and how the Linux kernel works.

Continue reading... but feel free to leave comments here!

Top comments (0)