DEV Community

Filipe Marques
Filipe Marques

Posted on

Making things look a bit better! Journal #2

This week I worked a lot on my JavaScript skills, but still have a long way to go! I added some more styling to my Portfolio webpage with a bit of the CSS I learned and started adding some of the JavaScript, but hit a wall when trying to make multiple Modal windows. I was hoping to achieve the desired outcome with as little code as possible, but it's looking a bit more complicated than I thought it would be. I would sit and here and solve it, but today I studied a lot and I'm a bit tired (hahaha), so I'll leave that for tomorrow and post the result on next week's Journal.

I've learned a lot with the JS course on Udemy, by Jonas Schmedtmann, definitely an amazing teacher. I've been doing a lot of research as well, trying to get things solved without a teacher or browsing through Stack Overflow looking for other people's issues and trying to reproduce and solve them. CodeWars is an amazing website for developing problem solving skills too!

It is indeed a really challenging journey, but I'm excited! Sometimes it feels like there is too much to learn and I feel overwhelmed, but then I take a couple steps back and just try to focus on what I'm struggling right now to reinforce it, before moving forward with learning.

This is it for tonight! See you guys next week! Much love!

Link to my portfolio: https://filipeqm94.github.io/portifolio/

I should soon add the couple games I made with JS in there.

Top comments (0)