DEV Community

BK
BK

Posted on

A Developer's Willpower

One thing about me is that I love comic books. I’ve been collecting comic books since I was able to read. Since this is “New Comic Book Wednesday”, I started to think about what heroes would be amazing software developers. At first, I have the usual suspects: the heroes that have high IQ. We have characters like Tony Stark, Bruce Wayne, Peter Parker, etc. that technical acumen that they would excel as software developers. I see a lot of lists of traits for the ideal software developer. I’m listing some of those prevalent traits problem solving, passion, creativity, quick learner, honesty, patience, communication skills, open-minded, overly helpful, attention to detail, stress handling, laziness, flexibility, well organized, open for criticism, likes to create, handling failures, embrace trends, a technical mindset, business perspective, self-confidence, and love with technology. I never saw willpower in those lists. If a developer has willpower you can easily handle stress, failures, and setbacks. The hero that has a lot of willpower is Hal Jordan the Green Lantern. I think Hal would be an excellent developer. He could even have his own developer oath "In brightest day, in blackest night, No bug shall escape my sight. Let those who worship evil bugs might. Beware my power--GitHub’s green light!" On your journey don’t forget to develop grit and willpower that help you get through those tough times. For without willpower, I won’t be the developer today.

Until the next time #KeepBringingThatFullStackEnergy

BK

Top comments (0)