DEV Community

Cover image for I Created a Video per Day for the entire month of January
Florin Pop
Florin Pop

Posted on • Originally published at florin-pop.com

I Created a Video per Day for the entire month of January

This article was originally posted on www.florin-pop.com.


At the end of 2019 I promised that 2020 will be all about my YouTube channel. So that's what I did. πŸ˜ƒ

On the first day of January I started the #31Days31Videos challenge in which I had to upload a video on my channel, every single day, for the entire month of January.

You can find all the videos in this playlist. It covers topics like: HTML, CSS, JavaScript, React and some tips for website development.

Among the 31 videos, I also did 11 Live Streams in which we (me and the community) built a couple of projects and websites. (Landing Page, Portfolio Website, Countries REST Web App, ReactJS App and much more...)

So that makes up to a total of 42 videos uploaded to my YouTube channel in January 2020. A lot of work, I must say. πŸ˜† But it was a lot of fun too!

Now let's see how this helped my channel...

Before the Challenge

I started uploading videos to the channel on 7th November 2019. By the end of the year I uploaded 11 videos and I did 2 Live Streams which got me:

  • 1,800 Subscribers
  • 13,400 Views
  • 430 Watch Time (hours)

After the Challenge

As mentioned above, in January 2020 I uploaded 31 videos (for the #31Days31Videos challenge) and I did 11 Live Streams which got me an extra of:

  • 4,000 Subscribers
  • ~54,000 Views
  • 2,600 Watch Time (hours)

Here is a screenshot of January analytics:
Analytics

Besides uploading the videos I also worked a lot on sharing them on multiple Social Media platforms like: Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram, Facebook, Reddit, HackerNews, IndieHackers, Dev.to, FreeCodeCamp.

People say I'm everywhere and... that's true πŸ˜†. Nowadays it's important to have as many eyes πŸ‘€ on your content as possible because you never know what could happen. And thanks to Social Media it's easier than ever to do that.

And I also had a couple of collaborations with Brad Traversy, Creative-Tim and FrontendMentors which helped on "spreading the word" about my channel.

Future Plans

Now that the challenge is over I'm planning to continue to upload at least 3 videos and do 1 Live Stream every week.

Also, I'm looking for more collaborations with other YouTubers and/or companies which would be interested in this so that I can get in front of more people.

The mighty goal of 2020 is to get to 100,000 Subscribers! 🀞

Until then though, I want to reach 4,000 watch time hours (800 hours left) in order to be able to monetize the channel. This will help a lil' considering that this is all that I do now... (It will help a lil' more actually πŸ˜†).

And... There will be more challenges, because that's how we roll! 😎

Have you heard about my plans to conquer the FreeCodeCamp curriculum in a series of Live Streams? 😏 Stay tuned for more info about it!

Conclusion

Although it was a lot of work on producing the content, it was a fun month. I've learned a lot along the way, made new friends for which I'm very grateful and I'm very happy that I did something that I really enjoyed doing and I hope that it will continue this way! πŸ˜ƒ

If you want to follow along my YouTube journey, you can subscribe to my channel. More crazy challenges are coming! πŸ˜‰

In the meantime... Happy coding! πŸ˜‡

Top comments (19)

Collapse
 
claudiobernasconi profile image
Claudio Bernasconi

Congratulations on completing the challenge and on writing this article. I'm sure developers thinking about starting a channel themselves will be motivated when they read it.

I started my channel at the end of 2018, and I uploaded fewer videos. Uploading more videos indeed yields better results. YouTube is working, even if you start today.

Collapse
 
florinpop17 profile image
Florin Pop

It’s definitely doable! 🀩

Collapse
 
andrewbrown profile image
Andrew Brown πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦

I just filmed 100 videos yesterday, I'm filling a 100 more today and tomorrow.
I'm so suboptimal about spreading out my videos but I just dont care lol.

Collapse
 
florinpop17 profile image
Florin Pop

You filmed 100 videos yesterday?!?! 😲

I want to see that. Give me a link!

Collapse
 
andrewbrown profile image
Andrew Brown πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦

Ha, you'll have to wait until I finish all 300 so give me a few days.
They'll be on the ExamPro youtube:

youtube.com/channel/UC2EsmbKnDNE7y...

Thread Thread
 
florinpop17 profile image
Florin Pop

Oh boy... how long is a video (on average)?

Collapse
 
leandrofmarcos profile image
Leandro Marcos

Congratulations on writing this article and completing the challenge.
You motivated me to do the same on my channel.

Collapse
 
florinpop17 profile image
Florin Pop

🀩🀩🀩 Awesome!

Collapse
 
iamnotstatic profile image
Abdulfatai Suleiman

Congrats Mr florin Pop, I hope I will reach your level some days.
Best regards

Collapse
 
florinpop17 profile image
Florin Pop

I hope you reach higher levels! πŸ‘πŸ»

Collapse
 
iamnotstatic profile image
Abdulfatai Suleiman

Thanks am really grateful

Collapse
 
karan_shah89 profile image
Karan Shah

Great going! You're already at 6k+ subscribers :)

Collapse
 
florinpop17 profile image
Florin Pop

Yup! πŸ˜ƒ

Collapse
 
vaibhavkhulbe profile image
Vaibhav Khulbe

This is so brave to do that challenge on a regular basis. Kudos to you! πŸ‘

Collapse
 
florinpop17 profile image
Florin Pop

Thank you πŸ™

Collapse
 
islam profile image
Islam Sayed

Great!

Collapse
 
florinpop17 profile image
Florin Pop

πŸ˜ƒ

Collapse
 
codypearce profile image
Cody Pearce

That takes a ton of work, congrats!

Collapse
 
florinpop17 profile image
Florin Pop

Indeed it takes a ton of work! πŸ˜…

Thank you!