DEV Community

Francisco Presencia
Francisco Presencia

Posted on

Contributing to JS/React Open Source ♡

Hi everyone 👋 I've been writing Open Source for ~10 years and it has been immensely useful for me in many ways, so I'd love to help others get started. I have prepared react-test so that anyone who knows the basics of Javascript can contribute. The library looks a bit like jQuery+React together:

import $ from "react-test";

it("increments the counter when clicked", async () => {
  const counter = $(<Counter />);
  expect(counter.text()).toEqual("0");
  await counter.click();
  expect(counter.text()).toEqual("1");
});

While it is not an official facebook/react project, I think it'd be pretty cool for others to have a project like this on their resume while learning how to contribute to Open Source. So I've been writing the Getting Started, Contributing guide, and prepared few beginner-friendly issues in Github.

I will be helping anyone who wants to contribute, in general the methods are similar to jQuery/Umbrella JS, so please follow that API where possible. If you have any question, please just ask anything in Github.

I am working fulltime so I will only be able to help few hours per day, but I will definitely get back at you. For me this is more work than implementing those methods myself, but it's also a lot of fun helping others and seeing people improving and contributing to projects.

So please come over to the issues, ask questions and send a Pull Request. I'll be over here helping:

Good First Issue

Top comments (0)