DEV Community

Cover image for What css technologies/ libraries do you use with React?
Mark
Mark

Posted on

What css technologies/ libraries do you use with React?

hey everyone, still a noob in front end development (sorry in advance for the noobness lol), though I'm curious what people use to in their front-end dev process. I'm just starting to learn react but to make front end development faster do people use CSS libraries like materialize or tailwind CSS or bootstrap along with frameworks like react/ angular?

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
conradsollitt profile image
Conrad Sollitt

Hi Mark,

Specifically for React Styled Components and Ant Design are very popular (along with a large number of other projects). Styled Components is very interesting as it uses CSS props with in React/JSX.

styled-components.com/

ant.design/

Personally for React though I like using standard CSS files and the className prop on elements. I like this method as I like using CSS and it keeps the code easily shareable with other technologies and basic pages. Example of a site I created with this method is Awesome Web React on js.org - I also include demos for Styled Components and Ant Design on it:

awesome-web-react.js.org/

Additionally I created a minimal JS framework and standalone react components. The demo pages are of the same pages/apps using different front end tech (React, Vue, Handlebars) so while the JS and HTML is different on each page I was able to re-use the CSS files for each demo:

dataformsjs.com/en/examples

For simple pages I often just write CSS from scratch and for larger projects (specifically corporate web apps with entry forms) I often use Bootstrap but sometimes write fully custom CSS as well.

Here are some good links for learning CSS:

developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/L...

smashingmagazine.com/2019/01/how-t...

css-tricks.com/

Good Luck learning Front End Development!

Collapse
 
frankmark34013 profile image
Mark

Awesome, thanks for the comprehensive reply :)! I've been using vanilla CSS quite a bit recently so I'm glad to hear that. Much appreciated

Collapse
 
xxpedrogsxx profile image
Pedro

Hi, I really like Tailwind but for prototyping you can take a look to bulma.io it's lightweight and easy to implement.

Collapse
 
frankmark34013 profile image
Mark

Thanks! I've heard great things about Taiwind so I'll check it out!

Collapse
 
frankmark34013 profile image
Mark

Cool, thanks for the input! Super helpful of what you prefer for the different scenarios you provided!