DEV Community

Jay Ganatra
Jay Ganatra

Posted on

DO NOT use ASP.NET Identity for Minimal API Endpoints!

Context:

Since this morning, I’ve been trying to add custom fields to my Identity authentication in my ASP.NET blogging project. I needed to add basic fields like First Name and Last Name. While I managed to add these columns to my database table, they didn’t populate when using the register API. After spending over five hours researching and finding nothing helpful for MVC or Minimal APIs, I stumbled upon Andrew Lock's article. For more details, you can go through it!

My Recommendation

Honestly, save yourself the headache. Skip ASP.NET Identity for Minimal API Endpoints if you need custom user data fields. Consider using custom JWT authentications. You'll avoid a lot of unnecessary hassle.

Top comments (0)