DEV Community

Dave MG
Dave MG

Posted on

I don't want to do Devops anymore.

No really. I don't. Money be damned.

Full-disclosure: the first draft of this was a long meandering rant fueled by mental-exhaustion and a few cans of Izzie pop. Nine paragraphs in, I had somehow written myself into a corner with a forced allegory, some stunted alliteration and something about "regressing to the mean" and why Pete Rose deserves to be in the Baseball Hall of Fame. My editor Mike made me start over and rub his belly. Mike is a cat. He says hello.

See it all started for me making websites. Ugly ones. Terrible websites. You'd be ashamed at some of those early websites, I wouldn't blame you and in fact, I'd probably try to pay you to surgically remove them from my memory. But I had a lot of fun doing it. Got hired at one point to be a "webmaster" for a small publishing house.

That tells you how long ago this was. My job title was "webmaster". People still put that on their resumes and CVs. I even got a nametag. "Dave. Webmaster". Ooo-wee I felt like hot stuff.

Because I knew enough about making a pleasant enough homepage and despite what my father would say, playing video games did in fact pay the bills: Armed with enough knowledge to write server-side mods for Quake, I was able to get my first tech job.

14 years later and I'm bored out of my ever loving mind. I don't want to do this anymore. Don't ask me why, other than to say it's not fun I can't give you a simplified, abridged reason for it. I've tried writing about it and ended up with 10 paragraphs and a thoroughly annoyed editor as I continue drifting off-topic and making Star Trek references.

poor Myles
In case you were wondering, it involved Myles O'Brien

Anyway.

I was reading a post here on dev.to from a young woman who realized she wasn't doing what she wanted either, and did something about it. Got me wondering, why not me?

No really, why not?

I went and signed up to Skillshare. Searched for "Responsive web design".

A day and some change later, I have a website. It's.....got a few problems. I'm working on them.

It's not great. But it's mine.

And it was fun.

This probably wont be the final version. Leave your critiques below? Opening myself up here and it feels strange, but it feels...necessary at the same time. I'm going to work on it more. And then after that I think I might try making a simple static site theme using Eleventy. Might port my site over to it. I'll run it over with Mike.

I don't want to do DevOps anymore. I want to go back to making websites. So I think I will.

....

Oh snap. Right. Almost forgot. The whole reason I started writing this:

Anyone else ever just stopped cold what they were doing and did something else? How'd it work? Are you still doing it?

Top comments (0)