DEV Community

Cover image for How I'm taking the #100DaysOfCode challenge
Gathoni Stone
Gathoni Stone

Posted on • Updated on

How I'm taking the #100DaysOfCode challenge

So last year I decided to join the [100 days of code challenge].

It did not go as expected 😶

I did it for a week and stopped altogether. 100 days seemed really intimidating at the time. After an invitation by a friend to take the challenge together, here I am doing it again, this time... a little bit differently.

I realize the main reason I failed the last time was because I did not hold myself accountable. Therefore, I'm going to be documenting my journey through blog posts. For every 10 days, I'll be summarizing everything I've done and what I've learned, an idea I got from Sarah Bartley's post.

What will I be doing for the 100 days? 💭

batman thinking

This was the hardest part!

After scouring the internet for ideas and checking out what other people have done for the challenge, I have finally settled on doing the freecodecamp take-home projects. I chose these projects mainly because they have clearly defined instructions and did not want to spend time creating my own problems then solve them. The projects also have already written tests which will be helpful in determining if my projects are working as required.

The PLAN😎

Start Date: Saturday,21st March 2020
step 1: Fork this github repo

GitHub logo kallaway / 100-days-of-code

Fork this template for the 100 days journal - to keep yourself accountable (multiple languages available)

I've joined the #100DaysOfCode Challenge

Contents

Translations

বাংলা - català - 中文 - deutsch - españolfrançaisitaliano日本語 - 한국어norskpolski - português do Brasil - русскийукраїнська - ελληνικά - srpski

If you want to help by providing a translation of content/rules in the language you know, submit a pull request (or DM me on Twitter @ka11away ), adding a sub-folder in the 'intl' folder with the files of the translation there.

If you've decided to join:

  1. Check out the Official Site for the #100DaysOfCode movement. Connect with others on the platform of your choice from this list: www.100DaysOfCode.com/connect Also, here is a invite link to the 100DaysOfCode Slack channel
  2. Read Join the #100DaysOfCode
  3. Fork this repo and commit to the Log or to the Alternative, rapid R1 Log (R1 stands…






step 2: Commit progress to the log.md file.

step 3: Code for at least an hour each day.

Sidenote: My mentioned ☝️ friend and I have a WhatsApp group where we'll basically be updating our daily progress - to keep ourselves accountable.

Conclusion

This is my first post on this journey. The next will be after 10 days into the 100 days.
Hopefully, I'll make it to then😄.

Top comments (0)