DEV Community

Gaurav Kukade
Gaurav Kukade

Posted on

How do you name your GIT branch?

Hi developers,

I will like to ask you a simple question.

How do you name your GIT branch?

A. b/your_new_branch_name
B. your_new_branch_name

I am using the first way at my organization. Why I am doing this? 🤔 Because I have observed all are doing the same. 😐

My colleague told me that we are using 'b/' to identify it as a branch easily.

What do you think about it?

Please write down your opinion on the branch names in the comment section below.

Thanks!

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
ridaehamdani profile image
Ridae HAMDANI

I think is not important if you use "-" or "/" or "_" to split your branch name. The most important thing to consider is using the main goal for your branch as a base name for your branch. e.g:

  • feature-XXXXXX
  • issue-MMMMMM
  • hotfix-YYYY
  • release-ZZZZZ
Collapse
 
gauravkukade profile image
Gaurav Kukade

I think is not important if you use "-" or "/" or "_" to split your branch name.

Well said Rihade!

Thanks for the valuable suggestion.

Collapse
 
jamesking56 profile image
James King • Edited

First way at my full-time job: issue/num-description

Freelance / Side projects: num-description

Collapse
 
gauravkukade profile image
Gaurav Kukade

Okay James. Thanks for the reply.