DEV Community

Cover image for Mac Battery Fully Charged Notification
Adriano Galello
Adriano Galello

Posted on

Mac Battery Fully Charged Notification

I kept on forgetting my mac was charging and most of the time the battery would be at 100% for a few hours before I realize it.

So created a small script that will notify you when your mac is fully charged.

https://gdi3d.github.io/osx-mac-notify-battery-fully-charge/

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

I'm not sure I understand the reason here:

Because electricity is not cheap and sometimes I forget the laptop is charging. This will remind me about it.

Leaving it powered from the mains or running off battery only affects energy usage if your power scheme is set to make everything go faster when plugged in. I don't even know if you can do that on a Mac, since they lock everything down.

Collapse
 
gdi3d profile image
Adriano Galello

Hey, thanks for your comment, but I just wanted something that told me that the battery was at 100% so I remember to unplug. If it's plugged you're using the electricity from the outlet one way or another.

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

I imagine the amount of power difference is so small that it's probably pennies per year.