DEV Community

Cover image for What's in a Pomodoro? πŸ…
Amanda Giannelli
Amanda Giannelli

Posted on

What's in a Pomodoro? πŸ…

Pomodoros are an excellent time-management and productivity tool to keep in your arsenal.

Background

Two years ago I took a free class on Coursera called Learning How To Learn by Barbara Oakley.

Barbara talks you through the different types of memory and the learning modes of the brain. She then shows how to use these modes to your advantage so that you can learn better, overcome procrastination, and boost memory recall.

I won't go into all the details of the course - I highly recommend checking it out for yourself - but my favorite technique from the course was Pomodoros.

What is a Pomodoro?

A Pomodoro is a time management technique. You work on a task in short, timed intervals, usually 25 minutes, then treat yourself to a break. The name was inspired by a tomato-shaped kitchen timer used by the originator of the technique.

During a Pomodoro you focus only on the task at hand - no distractions! No messages, email, phone, etc. If something does come up you make the choice to save it for later or handle it now. If you handle it now, the Pomodoro is cancelled.

How to Pomodoro

Achieve your Pomodoro with these 6 easy steps!

  1. πŸ€” Decide what task you want to work on

  2. β›” Turn off all distractions (as best you can)

  3. ⏳ Set your timer for 25 minutes

  4. 🚧 Work! work! work! 'til the timer goes off

  5. 🌴 Take a 3-5 minute break

  6. πŸ” Repeat (as needed)

The original technique recommends four Pomodoro's per session, or set. Make a checkmark on a piece of paper every time you finish a Pomodoro. When you have four check marks take a longer break, 15-30 mins, then start over from step 1.

In my experience one of two things happens during the 25 minutes:

  1. You make progress and feel motivated. Maybe you finish even the task πŸŽ‰

  2. You make very little (or no) progress. Maybe you realize this task is beyond your abilities and you'll need outside help. Or the task is going to take way longer than anticipated 😭

If you're in the 2nd group, that's ok. Take a break and decide if you want to keep going right now. If you do, awesome! Set that timer and keep going. If not, then put the task to the side, if possible. Do something else for a bit and pick the original task back up later.

Why breaks are important

Ever been told by an instructor to read over the whole test before you start?

Ever been stuck on a problem only to wake up in the middle of the night with an idea to move you forward?

Taking a break from the current task allows our brains assimilate, or absorb and process, what we're working on. This is true even if you move on to something else in the meantime. Your brain needs time to process what you have learned / worked on in order to connect the dots for the next step.

Admittedly, I do not always heed my timer. Sometimes I am so in the zone when it goes off that I keep going. I try to be mindful of this and take a break as soon as I'm at a good stopping point.

Timers ⏳

TL;DR: Use whatever works for you.

When I first implemented Pomodoros I used the basic timer in the clock app on my phone, and there are plenty of apps in any app store. Recently, however, I made the switch to a manual Pomodoro timer.

Why manual? I feel my phone timer is too easily dismissed and, to be honest, the phone can be a distraction on it's own. I thought a manual timer would help set clear boundaries for the task:

  1. The act of physically turning the timer is a definitive start.

  2. The classic kitchen timer ring, that can't be immediately silenced, is a clear signal to take a break.

A few weeks ago, in a stars-align moment, Nitya (@nitya) posted a picture of her new mobile desk, and highlighted her Pomodoro timer. Nitya's sentiments matched my own, so I finally took the leap and bought the same one. πŸ˜‰

The Experiment & Results

Over the past few weeks I have tested out my little penguin friend with great success.

My hypothesis was correct. I am definitely more productive during a Pomodoro. Setting the timer helped me better connect with the task, and the crazy ringing sound definitely snaps me out of it.

What I did not expect was that I would enjoy the ticking sound. It may not be for everyone, but the ticking sound helped maintain my focus. I think it's because the ticking acts as a constant reminder that you're supposed to be working. βŒ›

Conclusion

Procrastination, got you down? Try Pomodoros! You'll be surprised at how effective they can be. πŸ…

If interested, here is a link to the timer I purchased: Penguin Timer 🐧

Photo by Avin CP on Unsplash

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
timothydjones profile image
Tim Jones

Thank you, Amanda. Your explanation of this technique is the first that really inspired me to give this a try. Looking forward to it helping my productivity. πŸ˜€

Collapse
 
giannellitech profile image
Amanda Giannelli

Thank you! I'm so glad! Best of luck with your new productivity hack πŸ˜‰

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

Good post I wish more people knew Pomodoro.

Collapse
 
giannellitech profile image
Amanda Giannelli

Thank you! I agree. It is so simple, but so effective.