DEV Community

Joey de Vries
Joey de Vries

Posted on

How I could manage (without permission) someone else their Shopify domain via Namecheap.

Before I was called "GitDeVries" I carried the name "Djoowe". Along with the two domains "djoowe.com" and "djoowe.me". Because I hate to have deprecated domains in my list. I let Namecheap remove them from my account (great service). That means they will be owned by Namecheap after transfer:

Register info after transfer

How do I know these details after it is out of my account?
I bought this account on Namecheap account B and gave admin rights to my personal account A. When I asked Namecheap them to remove the domain from my Namecheap account B, they transferred the domain to themselves. Notice the fact they do not remove any managers or domains admins.

So my personal account A still had that domain available that still annoys me till this day. I did ask them after to remove it but they can't / won't.

Today I wanted to ask it again, because why not? And they told me to ask the domain owner. So I told them they are... To my surprise, they are not anymore for "djoowe.com". I think they sell these domain on their marketplace. So a shopify owner owns it right now.

And I can still edit the domain. Even though I pointed this out to Namecheap, did not really "cared". I should contact the domain owner and HE should fix it. So they won't care about me being able to manage another customers domain without being permitted.

Great stuff. Hopefully after the upcoming 3hour chat sessions they fix it.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
gitdevries profile image
Joey de Vries

They did remove the manager rights from the two domains. This was the fourth chat. If they take this "security flaw" serious and help it, not sure. They did not say anything about that.